Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Celeron 600/BH6: Canīt get above FSB 100

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-02, 06:13 PM Thread Starter   #1
john deere
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2002

 
Celeron 600/BH6: Canīt get above FSB 100


Iīm overclocking an Celeron 600 cB0/BH6 v1.1/MSI6905/BIOS SP-system.

So far Iīm very pleased with the results. Itīs stable at 901Mhz (1.85 v) and temperatures are fine. But as you probably understand, I want to know how far this old chip can go within reasonable voltages, which leads us to my problem:

I cant seem to raise the FSB to more than 100. Everytime I change FSB from 100 to the next level (105 I think), the computer still boot at 100 (9x100). Itīs like the changes wasnīt saved to CMOS. Same with the FSB-speeds above 100, all the way to where the computer wonīt boot without raising the voltage - raising FSB to a speed above 100 still boots my machine to 901 Mhz.

I have 256 Mb PC 100 RAM. Is that whatīs holding FSB changes back?

Suggestions anyone?

/John
john deere is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-02, 06:25 PM   #2
JaY_III
Senior of BX

 
JaY_III's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
My as ask what your temps are?

900Mhz is not bad from a 600 cBo celeron Celeron...
you may have hit a wall with the CPU.
JaY_III is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-02, 06:27 PM   #3
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Make sure the "speed error check' is "disabled" in the BIOS. Not sure what else to tell you, 900 MHz is pretty good with a BH6 and Celeron cB0 600.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-02, 08:13 PM Thread Starter   #4
john deere
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2002

 
Batboy and jay,
Iīm pretty happy as it is - a 50% raise is great. Iīm just want to know where the roof is, so to speak. Finding the limits and then falling back to a nice stable speed. Reaching 901 Mhz wasnīt even hard (except for that Flash BIOS thing, which took me a good while to understand...lol). It doesnīt feel like Iīm pushing the Celly to itīs limits, neither FSB-wise nor volt-wise.

Since the BH6 doesnīt have a CPU sensor, I did it the hard way. I put a digital sensor at different places around the CPU: Between the heatsink and CPU (37-38 C) and at the Intel measuring point, 0.3 inches above center of CPU-fan (35 C). Intels max temp at this point is 45 C BTW. I also monitor my system temp (31-32 C) with MBM 5. The onboard sensor is located about two inches from the CPU.

Speed Error Check is disabled and I donīt have the slightest idea of why FSB:s above 100 doesnīt get saved to CMOS. Weird.

Thanks anyway.

/John
john deere is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-02, 08:39 PM   #5
mavkam
Member

 
mavkam's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NYC

 
mine has been stable at 112fsb with the sp bios for almost a year now. I am running pc 133 though.
mavkam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-02, 09:29 AM   #6
Killet
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2001

 
Strange I have the same rig but it locks up at 112 booting into windows. Runs fine at 100 tho, this is interesting tho as I'm trying to install a celeron 1.1 but the multiplier wont go above 8 with that cpu. Is the sp bios newer than the ss? I'm running the ss now.

GL with 112

edit--I see the sp bios is for the bh6 1.1 board, I'm afraid I have the bh6 board, Thx anyway

Last edited by Killet; 09-17-02 at 09:45 AM.
Killet is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-02, 05:46 PM   #7
mavkam
Member

 
mavkam's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NYC

 
I had a reg BH6 w/ ss at one point and I couldnt get it past 100 either. 1.1 seems to be a better board.
mavkam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-02, 08:28 PM   #8
Snarkey
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Roanoke, Va.

 
Just to find out, I've had my 566cel@950 for almost a year now. Asus p2b-f. 1.85 core. Thermister stuck under the sink clip and plugged into the board (34c. idle/38c sandra burnin). fsb at 112 with no problems. I have played at 117, but locked up with Photoshop and some other apps running. Went back to 112. How come mine was so easy? Just lucky?
Snarkey is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?