• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AX-7 With Smart Fans

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kalgregor

I am about to buy a new computer, probably a XP2700+ with an AX-7. Does anyone have one of these running with a smart fan on it? (such as thermaltakes smartfan 1 or 2, or an antec smartfan). Is it wise to put one of these on a cpu cooler, do they respond quickly enough to changes in cpu temperature?

i have the ax-7 with the smart fan II from a V9 hs. i think the combo does a nice job of cooling. i don't overclock so that is another issue. i would suggest that if you are going to go all out and spend dollars on that cpu you should go all out on the baddest hs. i have no experiences with swiftech but others in here will. my experience with thermalright has always been good. my suggestion is the slk-800 all copper with either the delta 80mm @ 82cfm fan or the vantec tornado 84.1cfm. the tornado being probably cheaper in your area over the delta.

anyone else?

ok on the XP 2700 i doubt they will be out any time soon.... we are still wating for the tbread rev b which was released a month ago... unless ofcourse you want to buy a lot of 1000 - 2000 chips when they first come out and sell them to us :D

now as for the ax7 it totally kicks @SS im hittin 48c full load with 1.8v vcore and a whopping 400mhz overclock with a delta 68cfm fan i tried it with a sunnon 39cfm fan for a couple days and my full load went up 3*c... my vote definitely worth the cash and if you wish to keep your ears it still works great with a low cfm fan...