Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Hard Drive Diagnostics and Issues

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-02, 09:48 AM Thread Starter   #1
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
Hard Drive Diagnostics and Issues


As a means of assisting everyone in figuring out if a drive is on the verge of quitting, I have compiled a list of links to the major manufacturers diagnostic software;

Seagate Seatools

Western Digital Data Lifeguard

Fujitsu fjdt_6 for IDE and sdiag_14 for SCSI

IBM and Hitachi Drive Fitness Test and other utilities

Maxtor and Quantum
Powermax

Samsung SHDiag.

If I missed any manufacturers, please let me know.

A commercial product for HD diagnostics and protection is Spinrite 5.0 . Having not used it, read up and see if you think it is worth your time and dollars.

A new shareware product with a free demo DL, that purports to repair bad sectors, isHDD Regenerator . Haven't tried it but have heard good things about it.

Here's another new site just pointed out to me;
Hiren. Seems to have a lot of interesting stuff.

(The following added by David)
Recently a lot of people have been asking why their drive does not appear to have as much space as it was advertised as having. This can often mean drives are showing up a few gigabytes smaller than advertised. There are two possible reasons for this.

1) Manufacturers say "Gigabyte" when they mean 1,000,000,000 (10^9) bytes. When your operating system says "Gigabytes" it means 1,073,741,824 (2^30) bytes. This means in your OS the drive appears smaller.

For example, Samsung 120GB hard drive = 120,000,000,000 bytes.
120,000,000,000 bytes = 111.76 Gigabytes, 8GB less than advertised.


2) Windows XP, without Service Pack 1 or a suitable modification, will not see more than 137GB on one drive. If your drive is more than 137GB in size and is showing as 137GB then this is probably your problem. This is a limitation in Windows XP that is fixed in service pack 1.

To fix this problem:
See this article

From the linked article:
Quote:
Windows XP SP1 includes 48-bit LBA support for ATAPI disk drives. With this support, you can use hard disks that are larger than the current 137 GB limit. By default, support is enabled in SP1. To determine if you are running SP1, right-click My Computer and then click Properties. On the General tab, Service Pack 1 will be listed under "System."
And if you dont want to install SP1:
Quote:
Originally Posted by redduc900
You'll need to enable "Large Drive Support" by editing the Registry. Expand the following branch...

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE | SYSTEM | CurrentControlSet | Services | atapi | Parameters

In the RH pane, you'll need to add a new DWORD called...

EnableBigLba...with a DWORD Value of 1
Note: If you have installed Windows XP which has only seen a 137GB drive, created a 137GB partition and installed windows in that partition, you will need to create a new partition to use the newly available space.
For example, you have a 200GB drive. You created a 137GB partition and installed WindowsXP on it. You apply the fix/install SP1. To use the extra space you now have made available, go to Control Panel -> Admin Tools -> Computer Management -> Storage -> Disk Management section, and create a partition in the space now available.

__________________
My Heatware

Last edited by stool; 05-30-07 at 11:58 PM.
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-02, 06:19 AM   #2
Vovan
Member

 
Vovan's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germany

 
Very goood idea!!!

Iīve spent 3 hours searching seatools thru seagate.com

__________________
"User of genuine open-source Linux software."
Vovan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-02, 02:44 AM   #3
Doctor Cilantro
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2002

 
I can not personally vouch but have heard EXCELLENT things about Spinrite 5.0

jon
Doctor Cilantro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-02, 09:20 AM Thread Starter   #4
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
Thanks. I'll edit it into the sticky.

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-02, 01:43 PM   #5
[sAn]Assasin
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK-Blackpool

 
tests..


are we all aware that this "tests" are pretty useless...

and that when a h/d is gonna die there is normaly no warning...


All these tests speed up the self destruct process....


And if it does die....use the old IT Trick of putting it in the fridge...


it DOES work..
[sAn]Assasin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-02, 09:25 AM Thread Starter   #6
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
Welcome to the forums.
In most cases you'll have to run diagnostics to determine a code for an RMA. Even the smallest error can get you a trouble-free RMA, and they do sometimes help to find a problem before total crapout.
Of course, drives die without warning, but some make odd noises, etc., before dying.

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-02, 12:16 PM   #7
flixotide
Member

 
flixotide's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Denmark

 
Re: tests..


Quote:
Originally posted by [sAn]Assasin
are we all aware that this "tests" are pretty useless...

and that when a h/d is gonna die there is normaly no warning...
All these tests speed up the self destruct process....
And if it does die....use the old IT Trick of putting it in the fridge...
it DOES work..
NOT TRUE... there are many ways to actually measure if a disk is dying...

The following symptoms are approved by IBM, Maxtor and Seagate as signs on dying disks.
[list=1][*]Increased power consumption[*]fluctuating RPM[*]fluctuating MAX seek times[*]Cache mem errors[*]Controller response times[/list=1]

All of the above can be tested and monitored through software.. Sooo.... get techie dude.

Tman
flixotide is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-03, 03:04 AM   #8
larrymoencurly
Member

 
larrymoencurly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Why does Seagate's Windows DiscWizard keep telling me that my Barracuda V doesn't support the self test? It says the same for a Maxtor and IBM, but Seagate's SeaTools says that the SMART self test is fine, as does IBM's DFT. I tried DiscWizard in two different computers (Intel and VIA chipsets), even in Safe Mode.

What's wrong?
larrymoencurly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-25-03, 11:35 AM   #9
safemode
Member

 
safemode's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan / Pennsylvania

 
i've neer seen an RMA code have to be retrieved by some software means. It's always on the drive or on the box it came with. You should have both all the time.

Also, smartctl and hddtemp in linux are excellent tools for determining what's going on with a hdd. I especially like hddtemp. It's good not having to have to get each manufacturers special little program.
safemode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-03, 11:41 AM Thread Starter   #10
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
The code I refer to is the problem code that is issued by the diagnostic programs.

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-03, 05:27 AM   #11
InThrees
Member

 
InThrees's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southeast US

 
Have you ever RMA'd a drive, safemode?

When you start the rma process, there is usually a link to software on the form that you must download and run to query the drive. The drive will return an error code, and if it matches the code of a valid rma reason, you get to RMA your drive with no hassles, basically.

I did it with my old Maxtor 20gig, was easy. All I paid for was shipping the old drive back in the container the new one came in.
InThrees is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-03, 01:11 PM   #12
ImJustAKid
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
IS there a program that recovers quick formatted Hard Drive?
ImJustAKid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-05-03, 09:40 AM Thread Starter   #13
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
Most data recovery programs are quite expensive. Here's a downloadable demo (Recover It All) that might help you out;

http://www.dtidata.com/

Click on the free download section

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-03, 01:51 AM   #14
dtadpole
Member

 
dtadpole's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sparta,Illinois

 
I just had to rma a scsi drive to maxtor/quantum and they made me run a test and get a diag # from the program that I ran to return the disk. Otherwise they wouldn't take it back!

__________________
[OCG] BF2 CLAN

Ongoing Rig:
Case: CoolerMaster ATC-111 SX-1 w/window
H20 cooled -Mcw6000-P,Mcw50,mcw20-p,Eheim 1250 pump - 1/2"ID
Abit AI7 865PE Chipset
P4 2.53ghz SL6S2 L248 @ 3.52ghz
Sapphire Radeon 9800Pro/XT 256mb - Bios Modded "Atlantis"
2X512(1gb set) PC3000 Kingston HyperX - BH5's
120gb 8mb Cache IBM 180GXP hdd
120gb SATA HDD
Sony dru-120 DVD+R/RW
Liteon 16X DVD
Antec true430 watt P.S.
2nd rig:
Home theatre Pc!
dtadpole is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 01:21 AM   #15
dtadpole
Member

 
dtadpole's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sparta,Illinois

 
Thanks stool for the links, I will be using the powermax test tonight on a pc at work!!

__________________
[OCG] BF2 CLAN

Ongoing Rig:
Case: CoolerMaster ATC-111 SX-1 w/window
H20 cooled -Mcw6000-P,Mcw50,mcw20-p,Eheim 1250 pump - 1/2"ID
Abit AI7 865PE Chipset
P4 2.53ghz SL6S2 L248 @ 3.52ghz
Sapphire Radeon 9800Pro/XT 256mb - Bios Modded "Atlantis"
2X512(1gb set) PC3000 Kingston HyperX - BH5's
120gb 8mb Cache IBM 180GXP hdd
120gb SATA HDD
Sony dru-120 DVD+R/RW
Liteon 16X DVD
Antec true430 watt P.S.
2nd rig:
Home theatre Pc!
dtadpole is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-03, 03:30 AM   #16
CM50K
Member



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: germany, berlin

 
can anybody tell me how to low-level-format my seagate barracuda iv with seatools?!

i know that itīs possible īcause i did this long time ago...
CM50K is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-03, 10:40 PM Thread Starter   #17
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
Try using one of these;diskwizard

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-03, 06:08 PM   #18
domstar
Member

 
domstar's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wales,UK

 
Hi,
My Maxtor drive is very slow now despite it being a 7200RPM 40Gig drive ATA133. It is very slow and on boot the BIOS asks me to press F1 as it "is Bad" or sumin simila.!Anyone got any ideas as to wat is wrong?I used the powermax utlity before and just chnaged it to "normal" mode rather than "silent" but it was busted before this.
Any help would be appreciated!
DoM

__________________
P4 3.2 Ghz HP 800FSB
6600 GT 128 MB DDR3 AGP
1.5MB DDDR
MSI Neo2-p
domstar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-03, 08:27 PM Thread Starter   #19
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
Did you run the Powermax diagnostics? It'll give you error codes if the drive is crapping out, which you'll need anyway to RMA the drive or contact their tech support.

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-03, 06:25 AM   #20
domstar
Member

 
domstar's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wales,UK

 
RMA???whats that all about?it did give me codes but ill have to do it again and note thm. any idea is this kind of thing is fixable? Wat is RMA and how do i do it?
Cheers,
DoM

__________________
P4 3.2 Ghz HP 800FSB
6600 GT 128 MB DDR3 AGP
1.5MB DDDR
MSI Neo2-p
domstar is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?