Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Moving your rig and setup

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-02, 07:25 PM Thread Starter   #1
Krelian
Registered

 
Krelian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indiana, USA

 
Moving your rig and setup


Does anyone use quick disconnect fittings or valves to disassemble and move their rig/water system?

I'm planning on building a closed-loop system, but I want to be able to move it fairly easily without making a huge mess. How does everyone do it here?
Krelian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 07:30 PM   #2
The Spyder
Member

 
The Spyder's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oregon

 
I use 1/2inch Quick dissonnects from cambell hausfeld (spl?) and they work GREAT no leals EVER........ i just use a resivor so why i turn the pump of, the 12inch tubing thats between the block and the disconnect drain into it~ then i can disconnect it without makin a mess~
Spyder
The Spyder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 07:31 PM   #3
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
I use a closed loop system, no res, and it is air tight. I can move it, turn it upside down whatever.

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 07:43 PM   #4
mfpmax
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rockledge,FL

 
Move? All my stuff is in the case Or will be...
mfpmax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 08:18 PM Thread Starter   #5
Krelian
Registered

 
Krelian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indiana, USA

 
Spyder: Where'd you get those quick disconnects? I've checked campbellfittings.com, but I can't seem to figure out which part I need. I don't quite understand the lingo.
Krelian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 09:27 PM   #6
CrackPot
Member

 
CrackPot's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Davis, CA

10 Year Badge
 
I'm also using 1/2" Quick-Disconnects made by Colder. My system is external so I thought it would be best to use them. They work great.


www.usplastic.com
CrackPot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 09:39 PM Thread Starter   #7
Krelian
Registered

 
Krelian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indiana, USA

 
CrackPot: Do you use some kind of shutoff valve in conjunction with these quick disconnects, or do you just plug them as fast at you can to minimize spillage?

Edit: Nevermind, I was looking in the wrong section. Sorry about that.

Last edited by Krelian; 10-16-02 at 09:49 PM.
Krelian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 10:15 PM   #8
grim
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston, ma

 
so when you disconnect these things they close up and keep water from coming out right?
grim is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 10:28 PM Thread Starter   #9
Krelian
Registered

 
Krelian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indiana, USA

 
As far as I gather from the both usplastic.com and colder.com, yes. You can get both pieces, the insert and the coupling body, with internal shutoff valves.

Very handy for those of us keeping our systems external.
Krelian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 11:17 PM   #10
CrackPot
Member

 
CrackPot's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Davis, CA

10 Year Badge
 
There are three types of quick-disconnects, double shutoff, single shutoff, and straight through each which is self-explanitory. I chose the straight through version since it doesn't restrict water as much as the ones with valves.
CrackPot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 11:36 PM   #11
nealric
Member

 
nealric's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: under the floorboards

 
I use some big ball valves from the hardware stor (about $3 each). I made some mounting brackets for the outside of the case. If i ever want to take my rig somewhere i can leave my res at home and use a bucket :-)

__________________
I own a computer!
nealric is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-02, 11:57 PM   #12
The Spyder
Member

 
The Spyder's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oregon

 
http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS...00014771&DRC=4
And
http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS...0014771&DRC=4\
I bored the male connector out with a (cant remember what size...) does NOT restrict flow at all!!!
The Spyder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-17-02, 12:00 AM   #13
mfpmax
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rockledge,FL

 
Quote:
Originally posted by The Spyder
http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS...00014771&DRC=4
And
http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS...0014771&DRC=4\
I bored the male connector out with a (cant remember what size...) does NOT restrict flow at all!!!
Yeah...what are they...cause I recently was at the Home Depot site and input my zip code, and I believe this threw off the database for me...I got links for Air Compressors
mfpmax is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?