Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Almost to 10,000 Marks, Need Help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-02, 06:23 PM Thread Starter   #1
Cerial_Killer
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2001

 
Lightbulb Almost to 10,000 Marks, Need Help


OK I upgraded my sys. I now have a P4 2.4 ghz 533 , Soyo P4X400 Board, 256 megs of Mushkin pc-3200. With no O/C ing I get 9421 Marks http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4826881 And after I O/C ed the Video Card 300/300 or (300/600) not sure witch one is correct, I got 9830 http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4827419

What can I do to break 10K, Any ideas?

Oh yeah it locks up as soon i as i get into windows.

Last edited by Cerial_Killer; 10-21-02 at 09:47 PM.
Cerial_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 06:28 PM   #2
Morbid
Nitpicker



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas

 
Overclock your processor... that should give you 10k easy.

__________________
CPU: E6600 @ 3.2GHz (356x9 - 4:5 1425MHz FSB - 1.4v)
Mobo: Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Mem: G.Skill 2x1GB PC2-6400 HZ (4-4-4-12-20 - 2.2v)
Vid: eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 630/1040
PSU: Corsair 620HX
HDD: 2x 150GB Raptors (RAID 0) | 320GB Seagate 7200.10
LCD: Dell 2007WFP
Morbid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 06:35 PM   #3
xbiker321
Member

 
xbiker321's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kingman, KS

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah P4's run cool and OC easy...so ive heard

__________________

- Gaming Rig CM690


. ASUS P8P67 Deluxe .
. 2500k @ 4.7ghz .
. Crucial C300 128gb .
. Xonar Essence STX .
. 8gb Patriot DDR3 .
. MSI PE GTX 680 2gb .
. XFX 850W BE psu .
xbiker321 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 10:32 PM   #4
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
Re: Almost to 10,000 Marks, Need Help


Quote:
Originally posted by Cerial_Killer
OK I upgraded my sys. I now have a P4 2.4 ghz 533 , Soyo P4X400 Board, 256 megs of Mushkin pc-3200. With no O/C ing I get 9421 Marks http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4826881 And after I O/C ed the Video Card 300/300 or (300/600) not sure witch one is correct, I got 9830 http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4827419

What can I do to break 10K, Any ideas?

you should be over 10K stock check my sig, I plan to hit 10,400 soon as I install an unlocked 1600

try some different drivers and oclock your cpu

cisco kid
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 10:57 PM   #5
venom9007
Member

 
venom9007's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA

 
try putting ur settings for d3d on performance. at default I think they're on quality, which might be holding you back the last couple points needed to achieve your goal. Close everything you don't need when you're running it too, it might help. If it doesn't, it wouldn't hurt. Good luck!
venom9007 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 10:32 AM   #6
oops
Member

 
oops's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

 
You have several options to do in order to break 10k points.

I had one ATI built retail Radeon 8500 275/275 about 4 months ago.

I have the experience with this card. It doesn't help much after OC it to 300/300, only about 300 points gain.

but

check this out first
http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=3808986

10064 points on 3dmark2001SE

See the tricks now?

First those pp above are right about OC your processor. Mine was a 1.8A northwood, it was running at 2.547GHZ, so if you can overclock your processor(your 2.4B should be able to reach 2.8 to 3.0GHZ), then you surely will get 10k+, probably 10.5K+.
(for determine my point of how important CPU power is, see this http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=3487990
It's the same card I had, but on a different system.)

Second thing for you to do is------upgrade to WinXP. I've noticed the WinXp driver for 8500 is way better than Win98.(i see you have Win98) I gained about 400 points by doing that alone.

Another thing for you to do is-----what's your CPU:RAM ratio? Better set to 3 : 4, and for Ram timing, try as fast as possible. I used 2-5-3-3.(i had to use that 3-3 instead of 2-2 because the RAM cannot handle it after that extreme OC to FSB, i had Corsair PC3200)


So try all 3 things I suggested, you may be able to get 11K+

good luck

(here is my currect highest score after i replaced 8500 with Ti4200
http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4344647 )

Last edited by oops; 10-21-02 at 10:55 AM.
oops is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 09:44 PM Thread Starter   #7
Cerial_Killer
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2001

 
WEll I would like to O/C the cpu but i cant even get this thing to go to 136 FSB with this mobo. I have my ram settings to Turbo with cas 2 and stuff. So i dont know what im gonna do now.
Cerial_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 10:42 PM   #8
JoshuaB
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego

 
Have you tried lowering your RAM settings to see if you can raise your FSB a little more? (and/or increased your vcore?) Finally, definitely try some newer drivers.

Last edited by JoshuaB; 10-21-02 at 10:51 PM.
JoshuaB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 11:10 PM   #9
oops
Member

 
oops's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Cerial_Killer
WEll I would like to O/C the cpu but i cant even get this thing to go to 136 FSB with this mobo. I have my ram settings to Turbo with cas 2 and stuff. So i dont know what im gonna do now.

so your mobo sucks?

Switch a mobo if you can. Abit BD7II is only $96 free shipping at newegg if i am right.

Mine mobo is BD7II-raid, it's very good for OC.
oops is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-02, 12:00 AM   #10
residentevil2
Disabled



Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manassas,Virginia

 
set youre memory timmings faster that gave me a 400 point boost

set the ram command timming to 1t
residentevil2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-02, 12:13 AM   #11
tainice
Member

 
tainice's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Carbondale, IL

 
b4 you benchmarking, defag your hdd, and make sure that your monitor is 1024 x 768, 32bit and refresh rate 60.
tainice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-22-02, 01:07 AM   #12
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by oops



so your mobo sucks?

Switch a mobo if you can. Abit BD7II is only $96 free shipping at newegg if i am right.

Mine mobo is BD7II-raid, it's very good for OC.

is spending $96 bucks on a mobo really worth it just to break 10K which he can prolly do without, second games and apps prolly run fine as his system is. I would not spend money on a new board if the one he has works

cisco kid
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?