Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

read faq, still confused

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-02, 08:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
Xevuhtess7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston Area

 
read faq, still confused


why do you guys fold for this stuff? do you guys just want to do something charitable while ocing your comps?
Xevuhtess7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:03 PM   #2
Thespis377
Member

 
Thespis377's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Starkville, MS

 
We all do it for different reasons. Some fold because they like competition. Others fold because they like the way it keeps their computers at a stable temp. And others fold because of a loved one. But no matter what, those that start FOLDING get hooked and fold to make the world a better place for humanity. I have some very personal reasons why I fold, but on top of that reason, I like the competition. I challenge you to start folding for team 32 and see if you don't get addicted to it. Even if you fold for a day and then turn it off, you'll help us all out. Well, if you any other questions about it, we'll be more than happy to help and answer anything.

/me FOLDS LIKE CHINESE LAUNDRY!!!!
Thespis377 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:11 PM Thread Starter   #3
Xevuhtess7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston Area

 
does folding take up all my resources? cause when i build my new fast comp mabye ill fold in the background? right now im on a slow comp though (see sig). i think its a great thing that people want to help out in this way, i think its a great idea. i want to get involved in this, that way i can convince my parents that building a fast comp and ocing like crazy can do some good afterall .
Xevuhtess7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:14 PM   #4
overdoze
Member

 
overdoze's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
my celeron 366 OC to 523MHz fold 24/7 even when playing games.

no it does not take resource that you would notice. It will release the resource on demand. It will only take over your idle process or another word it only use your unuse cpu cycles.

__________________
My Heatware
Join fold on 6/29/02, wanna join team VGT 38156
Fold don't you stop
Fold till you drop
Fold to the top
Yee ha be-bop
overdoze is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:17 PM Thread Starter   #5
Xevuhtess7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston Area

 
thats awesome! i guess ill start folding right away! by the way, does it take a lot of bandwidth from my internet connectoin? cause my dsl conn is very very very slow, i cant even have 2 comps open websites at the same time without extreme lagging.
Xevuhtess7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:18 PM   #6
overdoze
Member

 
overdoze's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
i know someone fold with just dial up modem and it only use less than 5 mins per day d/l and upload work unit

I have dsl right now and have 5 rigs folding 24/7 and I never notice any difference.

__________________
My Heatware
Join fold on 6/29/02, wanna join team VGT 38156
Fold don't you stop
Fold till you drop
Fold to the top
Yee ha be-bop
overdoze is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:20 PM Thread Starter   #7
Xevuhtess7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston Area

 
wait so the folding program thing only needs to download once each day? or once each time i turn it on?
Xevuhtess7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:22 PM   #8
overdoze
Member

 
overdoze's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
yes. it will only use the internet every time it finish a Work unit or when it needs a new work unit . Depends on how long it takes to finish 1 work unit that it when it will use the internet.

__________________
My Heatware
Join fold on 6/29/02, wanna join team VGT 38156
Fold don't you stop
Fold till you drop
Fold to the top
Yee ha be-bop
overdoze is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:27 PM Thread Starter   #9
Xevuhtess7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston Area

 
are the things that it needs to download huge? cause im not sure i can spare the bandwidth considering the fastest i can download is 14kb/s
Xevuhtess7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:35 PM   #10
Thespis377
Member

 
Thespis377's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Starkville, MS

 
They are not huge. Go here

http://folding.stanford.edu/download.html

Welcome to the FOLD!!!! When you get to a screen that asks for a team #, put in Team 32 to fold for www.overclockers.com. If you have anymore questions, just ask. We're more than happy to help. 8-D
Thespis377 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:37 PM   #11
overdoze
Member

 
overdoze's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
the upload for P180 which run continuos for 36 hrs to finish is only 200Kbyte. Download is even smaller since it is only the assignment.

you'll be fine don't worry. and welcome to folding

__________________
My Heatware
Join fold on 6/29/02, wanna join team VGT 38156
Fold don't you stop
Fold till you drop
Fold to the top
Yee ha be-bop
overdoze is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 09:51 PM Thread Starter   #12
Xevuhtess7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston Area

 
thanks guys, i dont think im gonna start folding quite yet though because my dsl was temproarily disscontinued due to "installation".... so im on 56k right now. its so stupid, all we're doing is swithcing payment accounts, and it takes a week for "installation". oh well, on tuesday ill start folding when i get my dsl back. by the way, what are the teams for? is it kinda like a clan or something?
Xevuhtess7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-02, 10:12 PM   #13
overdoze
Member

 
overdoze's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
we are competing between team subteam and personal username to make it more interesting. For example, my subteam OC3d (username OC3d) team 32 which is team overclockers.com
is competing with The_Raging_Dutchmen team www.3drage.com


username and team name is entirely your choice. no matter which username and team you choose it will help the folding project.

you can check out the team production and user within team by clicking the team name here. you can even graph the future guess production base on current number

http://www.statsman.org

you can find OC3d rank 28 world wide here
http://folding.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/searchstats

__________________
My Heatware
Join fold on 6/29/02, wanna join team VGT 38156
Fold don't you stop
Fold till you drop
Fold to the top
Yee ha be-bop
overdoze is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?