• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A long and sorry tale, or...have I fried my CPU?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Myoldnamebroke

(if there's a sound of grating teeth that someone passes through the ether while your reading this, it's because I just spend ages writing this out, only for IE to have a hissy fit when I posted and delete the whole thing....and hello, by the way ;) :D)

This might go on for a bit...thanks in advance for your patience...

Here's the story: I'm very new at all this...I've only ever bought pre made systems before, and have been very happy with them. However, I've recently got a) a bit more disposable income and b) a bit more cocky ;)

It starts a little while back, when I decided to replace my tired old 3D card with a sparkly new GF4Ti4600. Everything was good. I get a taste for high benchmark scores...so, I decide to treat myself. Consultation with Those Cleverer Than I reveals that I have a rather tame motherboard (I'd kind of assumed that would be the case), and one that in fact doesn't supposedly support my processor. So, I am recommended the MSI KT4 Ultra. It also seemed to be reviewed pretty highly, so like a good little drone I buy one. This takes the spec to:

Athlon XP2000
MSI KT4 Ultra
512mb RAM
80gig HD
GF4Ti4600

Then arrives the moment of truth. I put everything together. I boot up. It works. Hurrah! Nothing has caught fire or anything like that. CPU temperature, given 1) I used some generic type white pastey stuff 2) it's in a hot room and (most importantly) I'm incompetent and hadn't done it before, seemed OK if a little hot at 40 degrees on idle.

OK. It's working. Ish. Might get someone better than me to redo the heatsink.