Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

What does this setting do ?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-02, 04:31 PM Thread Starter   #1
residentevil2
Disabled



Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manassas,Virginia

 
Question What does this setting do ?


Ok in windows xp setting control panel in the advanced tab i turned on kernal memory dump to see what it would do.

And now im able to get into windows xp with 1.82vcore 2300 mhz played Ut 2003 all night to test it out ran fine so whats the deal ?
residentevil2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 06:45 PM   #2
rippedsocks
Member

 
rippedsocks's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001

 
where exactly is it... i wanna turn this on
rippedsocks is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 06:48 PM   #3
rippedsocks
Member

 
rippedsocks's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001

 
ok i found where it is... ill try overclocking with higher volts brb post results in a sec
rippedsocks is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 08:04 PM   #4
water_cooler 20
Member

 
water_cooler 20's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FL, USA

 
maybe it puts less stress on the cpu and ram
u should try complete dump and see if u can go even higher

Last edited by water_cooler 20; 10-21-02 at 08:14 PM.
water_cooler 20 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 08:23 PM   #5
tragic_monkey
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK

 
hmm, ill try it when u lot have figured out what it does
tragic_monkey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 08:25 PM   #6
water_cooler 20
Member

 
water_cooler 20's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FL, USA

 
i think maybe that setting controls the boot up of xp maybe it would be better if u set it to none
water_cooler 20 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 08:31 PM   #7
nealric
Member

 
nealric's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: under the floorboards

 
how do you get to that?

__________________
I own a computer!
nealric is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 08:45 PM   #8
rippedsocks
Member

 
rippedsocks's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001

 
right click my computer, click the advance tab, then click settings under the power and startup thing. Its at the bottom
rippedsocks is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-02, 09:20 PM   #9
dearkook
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2002

 
No that setting is for what it states

System failure:Write debugging informantion

Thus those settings determines if the computer dumps the kernel errors and memory errors or none and by dump I mean to save it to a file.(listed in the option right below the debugging info.)

This sould not change any OC of your system maybe it was colder out that day or some other hardware change between then. Or even bios or driver changes or you could say it was the "burn in factor" if you go by that.


Kook
dearkook is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?