• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1.8a Northwood @ only 2.3 Is that all? Want to go faster!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ducker

Hi, I'm new to Overclocker.com's Forums. I've been reading the fourms here for a while & I've had a few questions I had answered by reading other posts. Thanks.:D I need some advice on overclocking my system. I have a 1.8a Northwood, and I can't get it past 2.3gigs, with 130 front side bus. If I go more than 130 fsb, system hangs or crashes. I would think that I should be able to run it faster with the rig I have. Here's my setup:

1.8a P4 Northwood (Pack Date 1/23/02)
Asus P4B266-C mb BIOS version 1005
1 stick of 512 MB Corsair XMS PC2700
Gainward GeForce 3 Ti 200 vidio card
WD 60 gig 7200 rpm HDD
Thermaltake Volcano 7+
Maxtop case 350 watt PSU
Win XP Pro

Here's my BIOS settings:

CPU/Memory Frequency Ratio 3:4
CPU vCore 1.65 v
Front Side Bus 130 (System hangs or crashes if I go any higher)
Memory Timings 2.5-3-3-7 (I've tried 2-2-2-5 & 2-3-3-5,6,&7) mem. scores in Sandra are lower though
Optimization Mode Turbo 1 (very unstable with any settings in Turbo 2)
DDR voltage 2.7 v

If any of you out there have any ideas or suggestions, I'd greatly appreciate it. I've tried everything I can think of. One more thing, seems I read a post somewhere that 1.8a Northwoods made in the first few batches just wouldn't run as fast as the ones made later on. Mine was packed on 1/23/02, Batch #L150A658. Thanks.

2 things jump out at me...

1) Do you have a PCI lock on that board? I'm not too fimiliar with it. 130 FSB without having the pci locked would put the pci bus way out of spec. try going straight to 133FSB and see if that helps