Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

oportunity! need advice

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-02, 12:23 PM Thread Starter   #1
Hawk
Member

 
Hawk's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland OR.

 
oportunity! need advice


Ok guys we have an opportunity here! I will have access to 18 p4 computers that run 24/7 I canít get to these to put the client on them until Dec 21. (theyíre 3000 miles away) There are 7 stand alones and 9 on a server. Iím not sure how the server computers are administered but Iím pretty sure the have hard drives. These computers are set up so you canít save to the hard drive but I will have access to admin rights. J Problem is I need the program to be hidden, it needs to restart hidden if the computer reboots or has other problems, as I will again be 3000 miles away. The person who over sees the day to day use and updates software on these boxes is going to allow me access to get them running but is not real savvy when it comes to this stuff so I need to get this done right in one try and run with out support. O one more thing lots of diffrent users use these daily. I know this is a lot to ask but dang! 18 p4ís would really help team 32..and my stats SOÖ..lay it on me all suggestions welcome!
Hawk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 12:25 PM   #2
new_novice
Member



Join Date: May 2002
Location: san jose, CA

 
google toolbar and change the team and name

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Intel Q9550 @ 3.4 Ghz
4 Gbs Kingston 1066
Saphire 4780 1Gb version
1 Raid 0 for scrap (2)
1 Raid 1 for OS (2)
1 Raid 10 for data (6x)
new_novice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 12:37 PM Thread Starter   #3
Hawk
Member

 
Hawk's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland OR.

 
Quote:
Originally posted by new_novice
google toolbar and change the team and name
Any one see any potential gaps in new_novice's idea?
*edit* does any ie have to be open for the client to run?
Hawk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 12:41 PM   #4
NASsoccer
On a string I was held Senior

 
NASsoccer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: i live

10 Year Badge
 
google toolbar like new mentioned could be an option.

i would go with setting up each client as a scheduled task and set them to run when the computer is turned out. there is a guide in the FAQ for this -=here=-. It would be a quick setup on any of the machines.

Or you can use firedaemon to run them as a service There is a guide in the FAQ -=here=- for that. This method is also very easy to setup.

What OS are these things running?

FOLD ON
NAS
NASsoccer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 12:47 PM   #5
NASsoccer
On a string I was held Senior

 
NASsoccer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: i live

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by hawk646

Any one see any potential gaps in new_novice's idea?
*edit* does any ie have to be open for the client to run?
nope, if you look at the msconfig you will see "..yourpath\GoogleDCC.exe -startup" run from the registry. Then you can uncheck the option to display the bar after you have changed the name and number in the cfg and registry and it will be out of site.

FOLD ON
NAS
NASsoccer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 12:48 PM   #6
Arkaine23
Captain Random
Senior Evil Genius


 
Arkaine23's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodlands, Tx

10 Year Badge
 
Folding


Run as a service. In 2000 or XP, use the task scheduler in the control panel. Set it up to run "at startup". Use the administrator password when prompted. Check the advanced options and disable the "turn off after 72 hours option". Then go back to the scheduled tasks in the control panel. You should see the folding@home shortcut. Right click it and select properties. On the target line which looks something like "C:/YourFAHClient/isinstalled/inthisdirectory"... add this at the end of that line: -advmethods -forceasm

There is a space after the quotation and after the "s" in advmethods.

Those 2 flags will make the P4's fold very fast, but otherwise are not necessary to running the client as a service.

__________________
Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
Folding User Stats
Arkaine23 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 12:49 PM Thread Starter   #7
Hawk
Member

 
Hawk's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland OR.

 
98se i'm pretty sure but will check -I haven't looked at the links yet will they both ways run on 98se and invisible?
Hawk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 12:53 PM   #8
NASsoccer
On a string I was held Senior

 
NASsoccer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: i live

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by hawk646
98se i'm pretty sure but will check -I haven't looked at the links yet will they both ways run on 98se and invisible?
firedaemon won't work on 98 i think,but the reg hack and the scheduled task and gui method work as i have used them in the past and they are completely hidden. I would consider the google method on these comps as well though since they are 98 and sometimes services are more of a pain on 98 machines.

FOLD ON
NAS
NASsoccer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 12:54 PM   #9
Arkaine23
Captain Random
Senior Evil Genius


 
Arkaine23's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodlands, Tx

10 Year Badge
 
service


It'll run on 98 as a service, but will have problems if the computer is logged off and then logged back on. And you'd have to use the graphical client because the text-only client will not be invisible. I'd try the google toolbar, although it may also have trouble when the users logout and log back in.

The -advmethods and -forceasm flags are still a good idea if you can get these P4's going. A good 33-60% increase in production for P4's....

__________________
Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
Folding User Stats
Arkaine23 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 12:59 PM Thread Starter   #10
Hawk
Member

 
Hawk's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland OR.

 
Re: service


Quote:
Originally posted by Arkaine23
It'll run on 98 as a service, but will have problems if the computer is logged off and then logged back on. And you'd have to use the graphical client because the text-only client will not be invisible. I'd try the google toolbar, although it may also have trouble when the users logout and log back in.

The -advmethods and -forceasm flags are still a good idea if you can get these P4's going. A good 33-60% increase in production for P4's....
I just put google bar on my laptop at work and can't see that it has put a client on or that it is running. I know I cant fold from here because of tight security but would it not be trying? win2k on lap top.
Yea I started using -advmethods on my p4s at home recently after some trouble but fine now.
Hawk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 01:10 PM   #11
Gnerma
Senior Member

 
Gnerma's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Simi Valley, CA - USA

10 Year Badge
 
If I were you, I would avoid using the Google method, on anything. I don't trust Google to be foolish enough not to check those changes or overwrite them when the DC features get updated (which is automatic).

Who put win 98 on P4 systems? Did they already have the liscenses or something?

I would work with whoever it is is running the lab.. have him install the client using a few different methods before you head over there. Then, whatever works, fully deploy that when you arrive.
Gnerma is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 01:13 PM   #12
Arkaine23
Captain Random
Senior Evil Genius


 
Arkaine23's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodlands, Tx

10 Year Badge
 
folding


You can check the log file for folding. You can also look in the task manager's list of running processes. It won't fold if it can't download a core or work units though.

__________________
Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
Folding User Stats
Arkaine23 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 01:54 PM Thread Starter   #13
Hawk
Member

 
Hawk's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland OR.

 
Re: folding


Quote:
Originally posted by Arkaine23
You can check the log file for folding. You can also look in the task manager's list of running processes. It won't fold if it can't download a core or work units though.
Where is Google putting this stuff?
I've got the tool bar on my home pc's sure hope I'm not running 2 instances. I need to check and delete there crap. I searched my drive here and and could not find any thing. I can download the stuff so I assumed the tool bar could too. don't know tho.
Any way anyone know where google puts it? Is it like our cfg files or is it coded.
Thanks for the help you guys. I think I am leaning toward running it as a scheduled task.
To bad I have wait so long. but my contact dont really have a clue about this or I'd have that person do it.
Hawk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 01:58 PM   #14
belorsch
Folding Monk

 
belorsch's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Maryland

10 Year Badge
 
Hey, you could always see if someone here is close by. Then we could give them a hand and you could check to make sure all was well when you do go by.

__________________
Folding User Stats
My Heatware
belorsch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 02:24 PM Thread Starter   #15
Hawk
Member

 
Hawk's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland OR.

 
Good thought ...but don't think friend would allow admin access to put software on. barley agreed to let me.
Hawk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 02:30 PM   #16
belorsch
Folding Monk

 
belorsch's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Maryland

10 Year Badge
 
Oh, I was just talking about helping him do it. Wouldn't need it for that, but it was just a thought.

__________________
Folding User Stats
My Heatware
belorsch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 02:42 PM   #17
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
Once you have the toolbar go to this link: http://toolbar.google.com/dc/aboutdc.html


And check out my thread on the subject
http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...ghlight=google


Fold on!!!!!!

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 03:55 PM   #18
new_novice
Member



Join Date: May 2002
Location: san jose, CA

 
1. I thought Firedameon thing you have to pay for? one the trial expired.

2. I wouldnt put the adv method in there, cause it will be a pain if the server for Gromac is down at a certain time or any changes to it in the future, so it's best if it's unattended just to be regular.

Google is ok, but I haven't play around with it or anything so can't really say anything, umm can you unistall Google afterward? Would that take it out?

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Intel Q9550 @ 3.4 Ghz
4 Gbs Kingston 1066
Saphire 4780 1Gb version
1 Raid 0 for scrap (2)
1 Raid 1 for OS (2)
1 Raid 10 for data (6x)
new_novice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 03:58 PM   #19
NASsoccer
On a string I was held Senior

 
NASsoccer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: i live

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by new_novice
1. I thought Firedameon thing you have to pay for? one the trial expired.

there is a free version and a pro version, thankfully all that folding needs is all in the free version

FOLD ON
NAS
NASsoccer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-02, 04:01 PM   #20
Gnerma
Senior Member

 
Gnerma's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Simi Valley, CA - USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by new_novice
1. I thought Firedameon thing you have to pay for? one the trial expired.
You don't need to use Firedameon with windows 98 if you use the GUI version as a scheduled task.

Quote:
Originally posted by new_novice
2. I wouldnt put the adv method in there, cause it will be a pain if the server for Gromac is down at a certain time or any changes to it in the future, so it's best if it's unattended just to be regular.
I totally agree with this, using the -advmethods flag right now means that you'll get Gromacs but it might mean something completely different in the future. So if you don't have immediate access to the clients, I wouldn't run it.

QUESTION - why is it that the man in charge of all these computers knows nothing about them? If he oversees them from day to day I'm sure he could handle this..
Gnerma is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?