Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

Home made vacuum chamber

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-02, 09:33 AM Thread Starter   #1
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
Home made vacuum chamber


I was just thinking - You could probably make a homemade vacuum chamber using a household vacuum cleaner, some thick rubber gloves, a fish tank, some duck tape, some thick plastic sheeting and a small plastic disc:

1) Get the tank, clean it out (very, very thoroughly)
2) Cut some plastic sheeting to the shape of the top of the tank + a bit extra around the edge for fitting
3) Cut 2 holes in the sheet for the gloves and one hole for the vacuum cleaner suction tube
4) Put the items you want to work on inside the tank along with the tools & things you might need. Also put the plastic disc somewhere inside along with teh duck tape
5) Tape the sheet around the sides and tape the glove edges and suction tube so that they are all well sealed but stick through into the tank
6) Switch the vacuum cleaner on
7) When you think you've got a good vacuum in there place your hands in the gloves, put the plastic disc over the vacuum cleaner tube and tape it up.
8) swicth the vacuum cleaner off & start work

Ok, so it's not going to be an absolute perfect vacuum enviroment but it'd probably do the job for a hard drive mod. Just make sure you don't put any small loose parts in at the start or they're going straight up that vacuum cleaner tube hehe.
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 09:36 AM Thread Starter   #2
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
I've just realised, you'd need some pretty thick gloves or else getting your fingers inside is going to be a frustrating excercise Elbow length gardening type gloves are what's required methinks.
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 10:36 AM   #3
ed8150
Member

 
ed8150's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Baltimore, MD

 
but the only thing is, a vacumn cleaner isnt that powerful. it probably wouldnt create much of a vacumn
ed8150 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 11:28 AM   #4
64Thunderbolt
Member

 
64Thunderbolt's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northern CA

 
the bathroom idea works fine for me... and I dont have to mess with plastic gloves

__________________
As the clock strikes midnight.....
Proud member of TEAM 32

Asus A7N8X Deluxe, 2500 Barton, 2x512 3200 Crucail, 160 Maxtor SATA, 9600 Radeon 256ddr
64Thunderbolt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 11:29 AM   #5
64Thunderbolt
Member

 
64Thunderbolt's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northern CA

 
that didnt sound right..... LOL

__________________
As the clock strikes midnight.....
Proud member of TEAM 32

Asus A7N8X Deluxe, 2500 Barton, 2x512 3200 Crucail, 160 Maxtor SATA, 9600 Radeon 256ddr
64Thunderbolt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 01:03 PM Thread Starter   #6
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
ROFL

What's the bathroom idea?
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 01:05 PM Thread Starter   #7
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
Quote:
but the only thing is, a vacumn cleaner isnt that powerful. it probably wouldnt create much of a vacumn
Hmm, well my vacuum cleaner is of the uber Dyson variety so I think it'd be powerful enough. Also, i'm talking about quite a small tank - say 2ft x 1ft
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 01:12 PM   #8
cerberus
Member

 
cerberus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Clemson, SC

 
well see if u put negative pressure on the gloves inside the chamber they will inflate like a set of balloons... sorry mate... rubber gloves wont work in a vaccum chamber
cerberus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 01:34 PM Thread Starter   #9
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
Quote:
well see if u put negative pressure on the gloves inside the chamber they will inflate like a set of balloons... sorry mate... rubber gloves wont work in a vaccum chamber
LOL yeah you're right. Didn't think of that - duh!

nm, what this bathroom technique all abou then? (no jokes please :P)
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 01:34 PM   #10
DaveSauce
Member

 
DaveSauce's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Michigan Technological University, Houghton, MI

 
lol, yea, that's true. Or else, just use VERY thick gloves.
DaveSauce is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 01:50 PM   #11
vinyljunky
Member

 
vinyljunky's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Glasgow UK

 
Question HEPA filtration ?


Has anyone tried HEPA filtration tanks? Such a system would give you a dust-free environment to work in and you could make a small glovebox quite cheaply yourself.

Check out this homemade box.

I know that platter oxidation can be an issue with HD modding, but surely if you work quickly and efficiently you can engineer the risk to a minimum level.

__________________
  • Before you ask, search.
  • "When a man sits with a pretty girl for an hour, it seems like a minute. But let him sit on a hot stove for a minute, and it's longer than any hour. That's relativity."
    - Albert Einstein
  • GB/GC/GCC/GE/GMU/GTW D- s+:+ a- C++++ UL+ W+++ w++++ M PGP++ tv+ b++ D+ G e+++
vinyljunky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 02:12 PM Thread Starter   #12
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
The top picture on that glove box page is kinda how I imagined this vacuum chamber to look.

You could maybe do it using HEPA filtration though, hmmm.
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 02:30 PM   #13
Captain Slug
Helpful Senior Member

 
Captain Slug's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Asteroid B-612

10 Year Badge
 
In order to reduce pressure down to zero you'll need a strong pump, not just a fan.

A piston pump is the simplest and most effective way to create a vacuum.

__________________
||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||
Captain Slug is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 03:50 PM Thread Starter   #14
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
And then you're looking at major expense unless you happen to find a surplus pump or somesuch.
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 04:19 PM   #15
ARGON
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2002

 
The bathroom idea is turing on a hot shower and closing the door until the room is really steamy. When the water condenses it will take all the dust particles, etc. out of the air. Wait until the humidity return to an acceptable level though.
ARGON is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-02, 09:40 PM   #16
DRaZZ
Member

 
DRaZZ's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: wolverhampton, england

 
also you would just burn you vacuum cleaner out with the initial idea, they dont like complete suction !

__________________
Phenom II x2 555 Black Edition @ 4x 4.0Ghz
Asus Crosshair IV Formula
8GB G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600 @ 1800Mhz
MSI 3GB FrozR III 7950
120Gb Kingston KC300 Sata 6gbs SSD 525/500mbs
1Tb seagate Sata 6gbs storage
650 Watt Powercool modular psu
22" widescreen hd monitor / 32" 1080 TV
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
HD Freeview TV Card with remote
Fractal Design ARC Midi R2, Red LED lighting,
Water cooling proc only, black butterfly, 120 Radiator, 650lph pump/res with Mayhems Aurora tharsis red coolant.
DRaZZ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-02, 05:23 AM Thread Starter   #17
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
Quote:
also you would just burn you vacuum cleaner out with the initial idea, they dont like complete suction !
Well, no you wouldn't because as soon as you've created the vacuum and sealed the cleaner tube you'd switch the cleaner off.
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-02, 05:27 AM Thread Starter   #18
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
Quote:
The bathroom idea is turing on a hot shower and closing the door until the room is really steamy. When the water condenses it will take all the dust particles, etc. out of the air. Wait until the humidity return to an acceptable level though.
Interesting idea. I guess you only have a relatively small window of time in which to work since as soon as the humidity reaches acceptable levels dust will start to circulate again although obviously less dust than before.
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-02, 06:10 AM   #19
ARGON
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2002

 
Oh and if you have vent in your bathroom, cover that.

A small window of time? Well yeah. It isn't going to be sterile for weeks. However, it is plenty of time to remove a hard drive cover and put plastic wrap on it.
ARGON is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-02, 06:40 AM Thread Starter   #20
Rakk
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK

 
Hmm might try that, thanks Argon
Rakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?