• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Retail Computer Brands...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

o0OBruceLeeO0o

Out of Dell, Compaq, etc are there any good ones? Or ones that are better than the rest? I ask because I have a friend who doesnt want to build it, and im not experienced enough to trust myself with other peoples money to build it for him. Thanks :)

Yeah. I have a dell and a compaq. :(

They're pretty good but don't plan on doing any overclocking/expansion/serious gaming.

Dell, or if you got lots of $ Alienware. Those are kinda expensive though. My advise though is stay away from Compaq. Quite a lot of their stuff is getting to be proprietary and I had nothing but headaches with their tech support. One of the reasons I built myself a new rig.

Yeah, I've heard dell is good. Our family computer is an hp, and It hasn't encountered any major problems yet.(and its even running windows me:eek: Alienware would be nice, but its definitely going to cost your friend.

-CPFitz-

i would stay away from hp as much as possible. the next time you see a new hp in a store ask to look inside and you'll see why. The cooling in those things is awful. i'm really surprised nothing has caught fire at work yet (Compusa). all the manufacturers use undersized and proprietary power supplies anyway so which ever way you go you're not getting that great of a machine. if you have to i'd say go with a compaq or emachine if money is an issue.

compaq is satans ill begotten son- ive had nothing but headaches with them. I would stay away from the whoile hpaq alliance.
Dells get the job done (but they are far from perfect)
Alienware is great, but far far far too pricey