Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Asus A7N8X temp reporting problem?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-02, 03:50 PM Thread Starter   #1
cypher
Member

 
cypher's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Richland, WA

 
Angry Asus A7N8X temp reporting problem?


Currently I have a xp 2600 in my A7N8X and bios is reporting 58C at idle. This is with a AX-7 with a smartfan 2. This same setup in my A7V8X ran at 38C idle. And I have reseated the heatsink several times. Now ASUS probe that came with the board is stating more consistant values 38C idle and 44C load. Motherboard monitor does not yet support ths board and CPUCool lists two channels at 54C but I am not sure what they are listing. All in all it appears to be reporting 10-12C high. Has anyone else experienced this or have any recommendations?
cypher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 11-29-02, 04:53 PM   #2
TC
Senior Seti Addict

 
TC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
My board is reading 41C under load with a 2400 @ 11X200 1.8 volts water cooled.

__________________
My Heatware
TC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-02, 05:59 PM Thread Starter   #3
cypher
Member

 
cypher's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Richland, WA

 
TC-
do your temps match what your bios is reporting?
cypher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-02, 06:08 PM   #4
TC
Senior Seti Addict

 
TC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
Well that's hard to say since the bios is the only source for readings that I have, but it hasn't given me any far fetched data.

__________________
My Heatware
TC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-02, 06:59 PM   #5
juninjesus
Member

 
juninjesus's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California, USA

 
Angry I have same Temp Reading Problem


I have A7V8X, A7N8X, and KX7-333 motherboards..
(Well~ Actually only A7N8X is mine. others are for my friends. ^^

I used AthlonXP 1600+ @ 1703MHz with default 1.75v
A7V8X : 49
KX7-333 : 44 --> this M/B can't read temp from CPU itself
A7N8X : 40

Since I'm using Zalman CNPS6000Cu Flower HS with 2000RPM 92mm Fan, The temp should be higher than 40...

In addition, Core Voltage on A7V8X is 1.76V @ 1.75v. However, it is 1.84v @ A7N8X.. So actuall Temp should be a lot higher than A7V8X's...

I'm waiting for newer BIOS and I hope it will be able to fix this problem.
juninjesus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-02, 07:07 PM   #6
Ren
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
I had a 1800+ palo w/stock HSF on my A7N8X, and both Asus Probe and Bios would report the same temps.

Now, after installling a 1700+ tbred w/ a Volcona 9, Bios shows a 10C increase in temp compared to Asus Probe.

I don't know which is correct... on boot up, bios shows the temp to be 46C ( seems rather high, unless I botched the HSF install ), where as Asus Probe would show 36C.

Even the latest version of AP shows 36C: ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/misc/...probe21809.zip
Ren is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-02, 08:00 PM   #7
scott123
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA

 
Yes its hosed, in both Probe and the bios. Hope Abit addresses it really soon cause I have no idea what temp Im really running.
Scott
scott123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-02, 12:25 AM Thread Starter   #8
cypher
Member

 
cypher's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Richland, WA

 
I had ap pretty stron felling its a bios problem since I had better temps on same processor and different board but just wanted to see if anyone else was seeing this to make sure. Thanks for the replys.
cypher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-02, 03:21 PM   #9
tbirdkiri
Member

 
tbirdkiri's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: nor-cal

 
Quote:
Originally posted by scott123
Yes its hosed, in both Probe and the bios. Hope Abit addresses it really soon cause I have no idea what temp Im really running.
Scott
ya, abit really would benefit from fixing other companies issues
tbirdkiri is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-02, 03:52 PM   #10
Despotes
Member

 
Despotes's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Maine, USA

10 Year Badge
 
When I was able to access the bios, it read the cpu temp as 6C. DD5 reported 33C.
It's on it's way back to Newegg.

__________________
ASUS P8P67 DELUXE 2600K@4.5 1.27v
Antec Kuhler H2O 920
G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB
Asus 5870
74Gb Raptor/250GbHD/WD6400WD1000
X-Fi Platinum
Silverstone Zeus 850
Dell 2405FPW
Klipsch 5.1 Ultra's
Lian Li PC73-SLB
Despotes is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?