Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Finding the speed on an old CD-ROM?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-02, 07:30 AM Thread Starter   #1
RetroUO
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
Finding the speed on an old CD-ROM?


I have like 5 or 6 old CD-ROMs laying around and they don't say how fast they are on the front panel. Is there a way to test it? I've never run accross anything. Is there a program or something I can use on a computer to test them?

THX for the help.
RetroUO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-02, 09:09 AM   #2
Gerst240
Member

 
Gerst240's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002

 
well you could install it and go to run type in msinfo32 click on components then cd-rom and it will give you a transfer rate speed
Gerst240 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-02, 09:48 AM   #3
CrazyBorne
Member

 
CrazyBorne's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
Check in system devices.
CrazyBorne is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-02, 01:16 PM Thread Starter   #4
RetroUO
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
In system devices just as the name none of them show their speed, just like manufacturer and stuff. But the msinfo32 I'll try. I'm newer to the more in-depth computer stuff so I actually didn't know about that one. Thx alot.
RetroUO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-02, 01:47 PM Thread Starter   #5
RetroUO
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
How does the 32x or whatever that a CD-ROM claims to be relate to the transfer rate speed?
Like my 48x12x48x CD-RW shows a transfer rate of anywhere between 4000 and 9000... Every time I re-open the msinfo32 it's different, does it test it? Why is it variable like that? And in that info it doesn't say 48x12x48x anywhere... And it doesn't refer to the write or re-write at all either.
RetroUO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-02, 06:52 PM   #6
DaBigJ
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
The test that msinfo runs is very inaccurate
DaBigJ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-02, 11:08 PM Thread Starter   #7
RetroUO
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
Is there a more accurate one? Something I can download perhaps? And someway to convert it to whatever measurement the 48x or 32x or whatever is? Cause I need to compare it.
RetroUO is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?