• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

copper block and aluminum block safe?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ap0calyps

Registered
I have a copper block on my CPU, and I have an old chipset block I'm going to put on my Radeon. It's aluminum. I don't have a rad, I use a water bong. I have read about copper blocks and aluminum rads eating eachother apart, will this affect me with a copper block and an aluminum block??? THey will not be in the same circut, but will share same water.

I have been using a Swiftech MCW464 waterblock since Jan2001. It is made with an copper base and an aluminum top. I have not had ant trouble with this setup using 85% distilled water, 10% antifreeze, 5% redline water wetter. If you use a simmilar anti-corrosion mixture it should be ok.

dude, I'm 17. What should I use as an "anti-corrosion" mixture? If it has alcohol or anti-freeze in it, is it safe to use with my water bong evaporative cooler?? Some of the alcohol will get absorbed into the air.

Sorry I guess I read your post to fast. I saw the word radiator but missed the part about you using a bong. I am not sure what would be ok to use in a bong for this because you don't want any funnky stuff evaporating. The best bet would be to just go with all copper. Chipset coolers are not that much money, replace your aluminum one with copper. Antother option is to use a good HSF on the chipset. On my AMD boards I use a stock Intel P3 cpu cooler on the chipsets. This works really well.

ap0calyps (Jul 19, 2001 09:11 a.m.):