Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

How are the C1 2.40bs overclocking?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-02, 06:49 PM Thread Starter   #1
Clevor
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001

 
How are the C1 2.40bs overclocking?


The C1 2.40bs have been out for around a month now. But I don't hear of many guys doing 3 gig on them. One guy said it didn't overclock a damn. So what's the scoop; how high are you guys getting?
Clevor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-02, 07:46 PM   #2
Mike360000
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Stokesdale, North Carolina

 
Nobody seems to be putting any or many C1 stepped P4s in the overclocking database. I've looked several times and seen practically ZERO, or 1 or 2 C1 stepped P4s. Everybody needs to post their C1 stepped P4 overclok there.

Cheers,
Mike
Mike360000 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-02, 07:46 PM   #3
timster
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA

 
So far, I am stable at only 2.7Ghz. This is with phase change cooling. I am able to boot into windows at 3.1Ghz but no higher no matter what voltage I through at it. I am able to run the computer just fine at 3Ghz but forget gaming. I suspect my video card is flaking out on me as it has done this since I got it new.

I'll keep you posted when I can.

Timster
timster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-02, 08:08 PM Thread Starter   #4
Clevor
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001

 
Actually I notice some 3 giggers in the database even though they are not C1s. But you know what they say: throw out the top 5 scores in that database . . .

I was particularly interested in how high guys are getting air cooled. I know early rumors were the C1s won't necessarily overclock higher, just you can use lower voltage. On the other hand, if you can hit 2.9 gig at 1.65 volts, wouldn't 1.75 take you over 3 gig? Maybe it's not working out that way.

Hey Timester, I bet a lot of guys at 3 gig aren't really all that stable at 3D. I got a BD7-II which is as good as it gets. I can boot at 3 gig and even pass 3DMark2001 and 2000, but the Serious Sam 2nd Encounter demo loop gets an illegal op. That ain't 3 gig in my book.
Clevor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-02, 08:15 PM   #5
timster
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA

 
Yeah, the voltage is nice and low. Heck, I booted into Windows at 2.9Ghz with 1.6 actual. Low voltage was nice. Temps were around 7 to 8 Celcius. Running Sandra burn highest temp was 45-50C. No matter how much voltage I threw at it, it just rebooted over and over. Perhaps my memory was too aggressive however, I did try 2 3 3 7 at 2.8 volts but no luck. I still say my video card is an issue. Everytime I boot it distorts for a moment then comes back. This has been an issue even before I started overclocking.


Right now as I type this, I am at 2.7Ghz 1.55 actual and temps running at 12C.

TIMSTER
timster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-02, 10:17 PM   #6
Lt. Max
Member

 
Lt. Max's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle, but im Estonian

 
my friends 2.4 c1 will do 166+ (havent tested yet) fsb wit +10% voltage in bd7-ii

max

__________________
<- pic of my college parking spot
P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
9600pro - 400@500/300@310
Cascade watercooled
Lt. Max is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-02, 10:51 PM   #7
kamilkluczewski
Member

 
kamilkluczewski's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada

 
2.4B0 runs great at 166.


Thread

See my benchies, I'm wunderin if a 1.8a and 2.4b C1 or B0 are the exact same chip with the exact same capabilities just a High or a Low from one pin makes them that different in price, performance of a 1.8 at 2.4 is obviously the same and all 1.8s do 2.4 easily. Makes me wunder if i got screwed by buying this CPU? Thinking, thinking, thinking, YUP i got SCREWED!! Shoulda bought a 1.8 and saved $200 frikin dollars.

CRAP!

Kam

__________________
YOU JUST GOT FRAGGED!
-----------------------------------------------
Cel E1200 with Innovatek 3/8' and Enheim 1048+AS5, 2x1GH OCZ 1066 DDR, ASUS Maximus, BFG8800GTS, Seagate 500GB, RAID0 2x36Raptors, SB X-Fi
kamilkluczewski is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-02, 11:16 PM   #8
DaveB
Senior Member

 
DaveB's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Gainesville, VA

10 Year Badge
 
The C1 is not the same as a B or A northwood. The C1 core has a better IPC and therefore does more per clock cycle. My 2.53 C1 outscored my 2.26 B by 20 seconds in the 2M SuperPi test at the same 3 GHz speed. And the 2.26 should have been faster since the FSB was higher. The C1 is an improved chip, whether it overclocks better is another story.

__________________
1. Fractal Design Node 304 Mini ITX Case, MSI Z87I Mini ITX, i3 4340, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, Kingston HyperX 128GB SATA III SSD, Gigabyte HD 7970
2. Xigmatek GIGAS mATX Case, Supermicro X7DCA-L mATX, 2 x L5408 Xeons @ 2.66 GHz, 24GB Crucial DDR2-667 Reg/ECC, Intel 80GB SSD, XFX HD 7850
3. Acer AS5750-9422, 15.6", Core i7-2670QM Laptop, 4GB DDR3-1333, HD 3000 Graphic
4. Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 (4x512MB) @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP Video
DaveB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-02, 11:38 PM   #9
pacino
The devilís advocate

 
pacino's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Where the hottest chicks reside!

 
Quote:
Originally posted by DaveB
The C1 is an improved chip, whether it overclocks better is another story.
I second that, if you're shooting for 3Ghz, you're still gambling
pacino is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-02, 05:54 AM   #10
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
Quote:
Originally posted by pacino


I second that, if you're shooting for 3Ghz, you're still gambling
-sorry for jacking the thread for a sec-

Hey pacino, I noticed you have 2 PC4200 sticks in your P4T533; could you tell me the Samsung product number of those? Have you tried how high these 2 can run in 4x Turbo yet?

Quote:
Originally posted by kamilkluczewski

I'm wunderin if a 1.8a and 2.4b C1 or B0 are the exact same chip with the exact same capabilities just a High or a Low from one pin makes them that different in price ...
If the chips are of the same stepping and revision, they are "the same" in that aspect. Each chip has it's own frequency limits though. How Intel deals with that and why the chips marked lowest by Intel often overclock so well is related to their binning policies.

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-02, 03:27 PM   #11
phantom punisher
Member

 
phantom punisher's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: fort drum NY

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Mike360000
Nobody seems to be putting any or many C1 stepped P4s in the overclocking database. I've looked several times and seen practically ZERO, or 1 or 2 C1 stepped P4s. Everybody needs to post their C1 stepped P4 overclok there.

Cheers,
Mike
that database is never up to date. it lags behind the forums info by at least a few monthes. i personaly dont check it anymore. besides there so many variables to a good overclock that i could give you my cpu and you might do 300 mhz better or worse than me.

my 2.4 c1 is doing well as was my 2.4 bo. but this c1 is being ram limited to 3.1 ghz at 1.58 volts and droping as it breaks in. at 1:1 ram divider it can do 3.45 at 1.75 volts. not much testing done at that hight except 3dmark 2001. all the codes and such for this cpu can be found in my old post
phantom punisher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-02, 08:36 PM   #12
pacino
The devilís advocate

 
pacino's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Where the hottest chicks reside!

 
Quote:
Originally posted by FIZZ3
Have you tried how high these 2 can run in 4x Turbo yet?
1 or 2 sticks doesn't really make any difference, highest I reached @ 4x is 160fsb. Anything beyond that is not stable, but gotta love the 4.1G memory bandwidth lol
pacino is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 01:59 AM   #13
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
Quote:
Originally posted by pacino


1 or 2 sticks doesn't really make any difference, highest I reached @ 4x is 160fsb. Anything beyond that is not stable, but gotta love the 4.1G memory bandwidth lol
Ok thanks for the info. Rumour says 1 stick could improve timing, but 160Mhz on 2 sticks is far from shabby. I wonder what .13m samsungs will do. =D

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 03:18 AM   #14
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
I was wondering on buying a 1.8GHz C1 stepping, but most people dont have good OC so I should save $$$$$$$ and get a faster athlon 2000+
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 03:22 AM   #15
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Overclocker550
I was wondering on buying a 1.8GHz C1 stepping, but most people dont have good OC so I should save $$$$$$$ and get a faster athlon 2000+
Hm? Most people DO get a great overclock even from older B01.8A chips! The most common speed is 2.4Ghz @ 133Mhz FSB... I'd forget about the athlon. =D

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 03:57 AM   #16
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
The athlon is half the price. Even no OC on the athlon, its just as fast for cheap
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 04:09 AM   #17
caboob
Member

 
caboob's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
well i have a C1 2.4B on the way so we'll see it can do. my last B0 1.8A could easily do 2.7 and nothing more but now i got a much better PSU (Antec True 550) and it has stabilized my 2.53@2.95 where before it could only do 2.85. This 2.53B is on its way out because I would like to hit higher FSB
caboob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 04:38 AM   #18
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Overclocker550
The athlon is half the price. Even no OC on the athlon, its just as fast for cheap
Pentium 4 1.8GHz 512k from PriceWatch: 125$

Athlon XP 2000+ from PriceWatch: 72$

The XP is certainly cheaper, though not half the P4's price. The P4's overclocking abilities have been tested fairly well. From the database:

Total Entries in Database for Pentium 4 NW 1.8 - 162
Average overclocked speed - 2560 Mhz

These are mainly B0 steppings, it seems as if the C1 ones do exceptionally well. Now it's up to you to decide whether that 2560Mhz + possible C1 gain is worth the extra cash compared to the XP2000's potential;

Total Entries in Database for Palamino 2000 - 131
Average overclocked speed - 1879 Mhz

I think the P4 is faster, and that is why I'd choose that. If you're on the dollar in this case your mileage may vary. Personally I'd say 125$ for a CPU is not a huge amount.

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 09:46 AM   #19
pacino
The devilís advocate

 
pacino's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Where the hottest chicks reside!

 
I just got another B0 1.8 and did 166FSB (again) on default voltage, that's nearly 3Ghz given! .. It seems it does not matter whether you get a C1 1.8 or B0 for the recent packs, they all do 3Ghz+ ..
pacino is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 02:43 PM   #20
ReTiCuLeX
Member

 
ReTiCuLeX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Staten Island , New York

 
I just purchased a C1 Costa Rica 2.4B shall I exchange it @ the store for a 2.53 C1 ? for $55 difference or no?
ReTiCuLeX is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?