Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Which CPU will yield a better overclock?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-02, 09:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
neet96
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
Which CPU will yield a better overclock?


Hello, I am looking for a processor for my new computer.

I have been reading around on many sites and I keep hearing that the 1800 XP TBRED is a great overclocking chip.

I was wondering if there are any overclocking advantages in buying a 1900 XP chip? Any 1900 XP chip that I will be able to buy will most likely be a Palomino.

Which one would you recomend?

Also I have a few questions regarding the 1800 XP:

Is it already unlocked?

What are some speeds that people have reported thier 1800 chip running at?

Thanks for your input.
neet96 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 09:32 PM   #2
[OC]Lucifer
Member

 
[OC]Lucifer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brainerd, Minnesota USA

 
The


1900+ wont clock as much as the 1800+ TBred, if much at all. As far as I know, all of the 1800+'s are coming unlocked. I dont think the 1900+ is. The 1800+ I have seen people getting it to run 2gig and slightly more on good mobos with good air cooling. Good ram is important too.

__________________
Phenom II x4 955 @ 3.7, 4gb OCZ ddr3 1333 @ 1800, Asus m4a785td-v evo, Geforce GTS 250, Intel 40G SSD, RaptorX 150gb 10k rpm, Custom test bench case, Sony DVD-R, Corsair 750W
[OC]Lucifer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 09:37 PM   #3
Commander_Kang
Speedy Dragon

 
Commander_Kang's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MD

10 Year Badge
 
Welcome to the forums!
KT400 based mother boards and the new Nforce2 boards allow for cpus such as the 1800 to have access to multis 12.5 and lower.The 1800+ is T-Bred A.You will need a T-Bred if you want access to the multis in the bios if you do not want to unlock the cpu by connecting the bridges.If you have KT333 base board you only need to connect the 5th bridge on the L3 to unlock the cpu if my memory servers me correctly.

__________________
-"I did not become a vegetarian because I like animals. Rather it was because I hate plants." --Malpine Walis

Windows XP 64bit
Commander_Kang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 09:37 PM Thread Starter   #4
neet96
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
Thanks for the quick reply.

What is the definition of good RAM. I know all RAM is not created equal but what criteria should I be looking for?

Thanks
neet96 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 09:42 PM   #5
Commander_Kang
Speedy Dragon

 
Commander_Kang's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MD

10 Year Badge
 
CORSAIR XMS is the way to go.I have a CORSAIR MEMORY XMS 512MB 64MX64C2.5 PC-3200PT running at 333mhz.You can get the ram right here NewEgg

__________________
-"I did not become a vegetarian because I like animals. Rather it was because I hate plants." --Malpine Walis

Windows XP 64bit
Commander_Kang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 09:43 PM   #6
Commander_Kang
Speedy Dragon

 
Commander_Kang's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MD

10 Year Badge
 
O two things.What power supply do you have and what mother board do you have?

__________________
-"I did not become a vegetarian because I like animals. Rather it was because I hate plants." --Malpine Walis

Windows XP 64bit
Commander_Kang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 10:18 PM Thread Starter   #7
neet96
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
Dragon,

I have a 420 Watt Power Supply, (am getting a) Soyo KT400 Ultra Dragon motherboard and will be running a custom built water cooling setup on my system.
neet96 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 10:30 PM   #8
Commander_Kang
Speedy Dragon

 
Commander_Kang's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MD

10 Year Badge
 
The dragon is a good board not the best but a good board non of the less.What is the make of the psu?

__________________
-"I did not become a vegetarian because I like animals. Rather it was because I hate plants." --Malpine Walis

Windows XP 64bit
Commander_Kang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-02, 11:19 PM   #9
Kunaak
Member

 
Kunaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Juneau Alaska

 
1 slight correction, you can get more then the 12.5 multiplier on a KT-400. I can get to 14, not 15 but then again I keep trying too high a FSB get 15 to work.
maybe later I will try 15x133 and see what happend

I have a Thoroughbred 1800 at the moment and I can say I love this little CPU. it's an amazing one, I now got it burning in at 13.5 by 166 and 1.9 volts.
but this is with sub zero cooling, so you shouldn't expect that.

but I have seen others that got to 2 ghz on air.
either way, you really can't go wrong with this CPU, it's a great one.

__________________
when you have nothing to hide, you have nothing to fear.
Kunaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-02, 06:39 AM Thread Starter   #10
neet96
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
In response to your question Dragon_Engineer:

My psu is made by Turbolink.
neet96 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-02, 08:41 AM   #11
Starfoxer
World's Biggest E-Thug

 
Starfoxer's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA

10 Year Badge
 
i just had the same PSU die after 1 month of service in my moms computer. went out and bought her an antec truepower, it will
never happen again

i would suggest getting a better PSU like an ANTEC or ENERMAX
to go with your good system. it is what powers te PC after all.

__________________
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
Starfoxer is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?