Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

xp1800 @ 166fsb

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-02, 12:44 AM Thread Starter   #1
grindee
Member

 
grindee's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington

 
xp1800 @ 166fsb


hey, i got a xp1800 and i burned in for 1 day at 2.05v, and when I boot up, it gets all the way to the screen right before windows loads, and it just sits there. Do you think i need to burn in more?
grindee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-02, 02:34 AM   #2
nut581
Member

 
nut581's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Columbus, OH

 
whoaaa ... i hope you have a great cooling setup that u decided to go 2.05V .. that's slightly too high for air cooling setup .. u risking the cpu too much .. careful it might get fried ..

run it back at stock speed, if it ran okay, then u're good ..
nut581 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-02, 02:55 AM   #3
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
what do you mean you "burned in for a day"? havent heard of that... thanks

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-02, 03:07 AM   #4
Kunaak
Member

 
Kunaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Juneau Alaska

 
prime95 or something similar.

__________________
when you have nothing to hide, you have nothing to fear.
Kunaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-02, 11:25 AM   #5
okra
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mountains of N. AZ.

 
Unless it's a tbred core, that 1800+ is probably NOT gonna hit a 166 fsb unless you lower the multiplier.
My AGOIA 9 02/05 1800+ will only do 1666 MAX on my kx7-333 with 512 megs of Samsung pc2700 DTL.
No matter how much you burn it in, you'll probably find the average overclock to be just under 1700 mhz on air.
Now, if it is a tbred, you should be able to run 166 fsb no problem, but from what you are describing, it sounds as though it isn't.
okra is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-02, 02:13 PM Thread Starter   #6
grindee
Member

 
grindee's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington

 
im water cooled


im not air cooled, im dual heatercore water cooled. 25c full load. Burning in is when you run high volts with stock speeds or lower. It helps you oc better.
grindee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-02, 03:26 PM   #7
Angryviking
Member

 
Angryviking's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Canada!

 
Burning-in is a topic of heated discussion; most people are convinced it doesn't help at all. Unfortunately, the 1800 is not much of an OCer either. It's rare to see great OCs. I gave up on mine, went and got a 1600.

What are your settings at when it refuses to boot? (FSB, volts, mem timings etc)

Last edited by Angryviking; 12-06-02 at 07:47 PM.
Angryviking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-02, 11:33 PM Thread Starter   #8
grindee
Member

 
grindee's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington

 
fsb


it wont work on 166fsbx11.5(stock) @ 2.05v it wont work, or at 2.10 it wont work. I even tried 2.05v with the ram at 133mhz, its usually at 166. cas 2.5
grindee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-02, 09:08 AM   #9
Angryviking
Member

 
Angryviking's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Canada!

 
That sounds exactly like my 1800 before I gave up. It's a lousy OCer....
Angryviking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-02, 09:17 AM   #10
broken003
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002

 
You can see my OCed XP1800 in my sig, I had to unlock it which you might have to do if you insist on running a 166MHz FSB. (I run it at 11x173.......2.1V)
broken003 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-02, 08:55 PM Thread Starter   #11
grindee
Member

 
grindee's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington

 
i traded my friend


i traded my xp1800 for my friends xp1600 because he doesnt oc. Its all good now. Gonna try and run 172x10.5 w/ the 1600
grindee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-02, 09:19 PM   #12
OC Detective
Member

 
OC Detective's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malaysia

 
Re: fsb


Quote:
Originally posted by grindee
it wont work on 166fsbx11.5(stock) @ 2.05v it wont work, or at 2.10 it wont work. I even tried 2.05v with the ram at 133mhz, its usually at 166. cas 2.5
166 x 11.5 = stock? No.
133 x 11.5 = stock!
So you were not burning in at stock speeds!
OC Detective is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-02, 09:47 PM Thread Starter   #13
grindee
Member

 
grindee's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington

 
i meant the multiplier


i meant the 11.5 multiplier as stock, not the fsb. i know fsb is 133
grindee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-10-02, 05:11 AM   #14
Chris1980
Member



Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany

 
Re: fsb


Quote:
Originally posted by grindee
it wont work on 166fsbx11.5(stock) @ 2.05v it wont work, or at 2.10 it wont work. I even tried 2.05v with the ram at 133mhz, its usually at 166. cas 2.5
My T-Bred runs at 12,5x166MHZ at 1,6(!!!) Volts....

I think, the voltage is way too high.
Chris1980 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-10-02, 05:46 AM   #15
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
uber-high voltages (over 2v) can casue problems.

A ''good'' chip should Overclock quite well with little or no voltage increases.

Assuming the chip is not the problem, perhaps your AGP and PCI speeds are too fast for your cards? Some NICs and SCSI and RAID cards dont like high PCI speeds.

David

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 12:50 AM Thread Starter   #16
grindee
Member

 
grindee's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington

 
k thx


thx for help guys
grindee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 08:33 AM   #17
Kaswyn
Member

 
Kaswyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland

 
Quote:
Originally posted by broken003
You can see my OCed XP1800 in my sig, I had to unlock it which you might have to do if you insist on running a 166MHz FSB. (I run it at 11x173.......2.1V)
Ouch. I run mine at 11x175 at (reported voltage) 1.7v+. That a Palomino?
Kaswyn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 08:40 AM   #18
broken003
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Kaswyn


Ouch. I run mine at 11x175 at (reported voltage) 1.7v+. That a Palomino?
Yea it is a Palomino, I only wish it were a Tbred. I dont get much more MHz out of it going from 1.85 to 2.1 V (something like 100Mhz), but I have the cooling system to take care of the additional heat so I figure what the heck.
broken003 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?