• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

KK266 Duron boots but Athlon won't

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tmitch

Registered
I have been running an Athlon 1600+ reliably for over two months at over 1600 mhz. About two weeks ago the CPU started ignoring the BIOS multiplier and went down to less than 800 mhz. This lasted about 2 days (computer turned off multiple times). I kept playing with the settings and all of a sudden, everything went back to normal.
Woried about my unlocking of the CPU, I took it out to check everything which looked normal. When I put it back in, my computer would not boot. Everything black. I may have zapped some static electricity (thought I heard something). Out/In a number of times. Finally decided that the chip had fried and put my old Duron 650 back in and computer booted up perfect (I of course, set FSB jumper back to 100).

Ordered and just received a new Athlon Tbred 1800+ and put it in my computer. NO BOOT. I don't know if the new CPU is defective or if something is wrong with the Motherboard. I don't have any way to check the CPU out except to send it back. Can something in the motherboard cause a Duron to work and an Athlon not work?

:(

I already have the latest version they offer (kk1022), but do you think re-flashing it might help? I guess it couldn't hurt!

Re-flashed and it didn't make any difference.

Darn Iwill support just takes a recorded message and hasn't called me back yet after two phone calls. I don't know whether to send my new T'bred back for a replacement or buy a new mobo or both or just sit here and whine.:(