Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Cooler Master ATC110/111- will dtek radiator fit in lower front?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-02, 11:34 AM Thread Starter   #1
JML
Senior Member

 
JML's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
Cooler Master ATC110/111- will dtek radiator fit in lower front?


See subject

__________________
Athlon XP 2500+ I Abit NF7-S rev.2 I Two 36.7GB Raptors in RAID 0
Geforce3 Ti200 I 2x512MB Mushkin PC3500 Level 2


If you think it's been asked before, it probably has- Search
JML is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 01:48 AM   #2
obliv
Member

 
obliv's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
check the pdf file, that should give you an idea.
obliv is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 05:47 AM   #3
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
The ATC110, like the 201 I know has a solid 3.5" rack fastened to the case, covering the entire frontal area. The radiator will not fit inside this rack, and I think mounting it behind the rack will result in motherboard clearance issues.

There is a solution to this problem if you are prepared to saw away the lower part of the rack (note that it is fixed to the bottom of the case and it's one solid piece).
Then, the width of the case itself is sufficient to mount the radiator there. Note that the front air intake is 2x80mm, and likely still less than optimal for the 120mm-oriented radiator.

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 08:39 AM   #4
Overbrazil
Member

 
Overbrazil's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

 
Hi friend, i has a small case, so i had to cut with a dremel the last 2 empty 3 1\2 bays. It fitted.



__________________
Q9550 @ 4.1
Asus P5Q Deluxe
4 GB Gskill PC1100 DDR2
ATI Saphire 4870 1Gb Toxic
2x Raptors Raid 0
Pc power cooling silencer 750w
second phase in progress
Overbrazil is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 03:03 PM Thread Starter   #5
JML
Senior Member

 
JML's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
when you say it is "fixed" to the case do you mean the hard drive rack and case are one piece, or could the hard drive rack be removed all together by removing some screws?

BTW- thanks everyone for replies thus far

__________________
Athlon XP 2500+ I Abit NF7-S rev.2 I Two 36.7GB Raptors in RAID 0
Geforce3 Ti200 I 2x512MB Mushkin PC3500 Level 2


If you think it's been asked before, it probably has- Search
JML is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 03:41 PM   #6
CrackPot
Member

 
CrackPot's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Davis, CA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by JML
when you say it is "fixed" to the case do you mean the hard drive rack and case are one piece, or could the hard drive rack be removed all together by removing some screws?

BTW- thanks everyone for replies thus far
It's one long solid cage and I do believe it's attatched to the case via screws or rivets (not in front of my computer right now so I can't check). In order to remove the lower portion I guess you can use a dremel, but I would never do that to a top of the line Coolermaster.
CrackPot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 05:00 PM   #7
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
Yes they are one piece. What's even more... I just ogled my particular case (the ATC201 which is very similar) and this rack is even one piece with the case front! You'll have to do some serious cutting, but I do think it is feasible. And irreversible. =S

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 05:48 PM   #8
Sniperboy
Member



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Omaha, NE/Ithaca, NY

 
I have a Coolermaster ATC-201 case and I have cut out all of the internal 3 1/2" bays. I did it with a hacksaw. I just cut a horizontal line, stopping at where the drive cage intersects the front piece of the case. I have a riveter, so I drilled out all of the rivets on the bottom of the case and took it off while I cut out the drive bays.
Although, let me warn you it will be a ridiculously tight fit. I have the radiator on it's side and it sits diagonally in my case. Also, I had to cut a special fan shround to make it fit. I'm also using a Maxijet pump, which is really small.
Sniperboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-14-02, 03:25 AM Thread Starter   #9
JML
Senior Member

 
JML's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
I don't think I would ever cut up such an expensive case
If I got that case I'd have to build myself something like koolance's exos.

Thanks everyone for replies, much appreciated

__________________
Athlon XP 2500+ I Abit NF7-S rev.2 I Two 36.7GB Raptors in RAID 0
Geforce3 Ti200 I 2x512MB Mushkin PC3500 Level 2


If you think it's been asked before, it probably has- Search
JML is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-14-02, 04:27 AM   #10
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Sniperboy
I have a Coolermaster ATC-201 case and I have cut out all of the internal 3 1/2" bays. I did it with a hacksaw. I just cut a horizontal line, stopping at where the drive cage intersects the front piece of the case. I have a riveter, so I drilled out all of the rivets on the bottom of the case and took it off while I cut out the drive bays.
Although, let me warn you it will be a ridiculously tight fit. I have the radiator on it's side and it sits diagonally in my case. Also, I had to cut a special fan shround to make it fit. I'm also using a Maxijet pump, which is really small.
So what did you do with the front piece intersection then? That seems to be the most difficult cut.

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-14-02, 05:56 AM   #11
R.Rabbit
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: okinawa, japan

 
the chevette heater core(the one that DTEK uses) its 15cm wide and about 18.5cm tall
R.Rabbit is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-02, 01:29 PM   #12
scanido
Member

 
scanido's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada

 





I have the ATC-111SX and I tell ya it was a pain even getting that black ice pro up there! I had to cut the PSU cage and it still barely fit between there. I don't know wheher you'd want to cut the 5 1/4 cage area for a rad because that is the onnly peice that holds the frame together.

__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Abit IC7-MAX3 **vTT Modded**
P4 3.2E D0 SL7E5 @ 3.75Ghz 1.45v
1GB OCZ PC3700EB Platinum 2.5-2-2-5 1:1
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 500/350
74Gb WD Raptor ~ OS/Apps
36Gb WD Raptor ~ Pagefile/Scratch/Games
160Gb Hitachi 7K250 SATA - Documents/Backup
Silverstone SST-TJ03 **WC'ing comin soon**
PC Power & Cooling TurboCool 510w DLX
Samsung 191T

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
scanido is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-02, 06:33 PM Thread Starter   #13
JML
Senior Member

 
JML's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
I'm gettin red x's

__________________
Athlon XP 2500+ I Abit NF7-S rev.2 I Two 36.7GB Raptors in RAID 0
Geforce3 Ti200 I 2x512MB Mushkin PC3500 Level 2


If you think it's been asked before, it probably has- Search
JML is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-02, 10:45 PM   #14
Sniperboy
Member



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Omaha, NE/Ithaca, NY

 
Quote:
Originally posted by FIZZ3


So what did you do with the front piece intersection then? That seems to be the most difficult cut.
At the point where the drive cage intersects the fan holder things, I cut along the edge of the fan holder thing. Since the bottom of my case was off, I just flipped the case upside down and began cutting.
Sniperboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-02, 06:51 AM   #15
DodgeViper
Member

 
DodgeViper's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY

 
Quote:
Originally posted by R.Rabbit
the chevette heater core(the one that DTEK uses) its 15cm wide and about 18.5cm tall

or 6" x 7" x 2"
DodgeViper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-15-03, 07:47 AM   #16
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Sniperboy


At the point where the drive cage intersects the fan holder things, I cut along the edge of the fan holder thing. Since the bottom of my case was off, I just flipped the case upside down and began cutting.
I just dug up this old thread as I am now planning to install a heatercore in my 201 as well.

Sniperboy, why did you not place the rad 'standing up' with the barbs on top? I figure the space is there- the cut through the rectangular sparing between the internal 3.5" bays and is just high enough (18.5cm) for the core or is it not?

Do I understand correctly that you kept the fan holder? I was thinking of removing that as well. Hm I must check whether that works with the grille mounting.

Another question: how exactly did you remove the rivets? I know they are supposed to be drilled out, but could you tell me how exactly? RPM? Size/type drill bit?

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?