Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

P4 2.53 - B0 Stepping :(

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-13-02, 05:30 PM Thread Starter   #1
Klashe
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
P4 2.53 - B0 Stepping :(


Very dissapointed. I just received the cpu today (12/13/02) and it came out a B0 stepping, not C1 as I was hoping for. I'm just wondering if I should send it back and try again (NewEgg) or keep this. Is there _really_ a significant difference? I don't know... I'll leave that up to you guys to decide. Thanks.
Klashe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 06:38 PM   #2
flapperhead
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: wash dc area

 
if new egg will take it back, and theres a chance to get a c1, yeah id do it. it appers the c1 steping has much potential. gonna go shopping for one tommorow at a comp show
flapperhead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 07:23 PM   #3
jdmcnudgent
Member

 
jdmcnudgent's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: tOLEDO, OHIO, the heart of it all!

 
dont know why you are disappointed, the box c1's are only showing up in 2.4b flavors.
jdmcnudgent is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-02, 07:28 PM Thread Starter   #4
Klashe
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
If you go read some of the "Reader Reviews" given at NewEgg with the product (the one I want), some people have gotten C1 steppings. Oh well.
Klashe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-14-02, 04:38 AM   #5
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
I would test the chip's potential before being disappointed. There have been several reports of C1's falling flat at 100Mhz max OC. B0's are not immune to this, but there has been a decent number of impressive overclocks from this stepping too.

Try it out!

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-14-02, 06:10 AM   #6
micamica1217
Member

 
micamica1217's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

 
I can't agree more with FIZZ3.

I have seen C1 chips do bad as well as good at OCing.

I'm not saying that C1 chips should not be better, just that it is still luck of the draw.

if I had two retail boxs of the same cpu then I would open the C1.
yet I would never pay extra for it.

as you can see, I just got a 2.4b B0 less then two days ago from the egg. now why would I want to pay extra for a C1???

this chip is only running at 1.7v real....and when I stop getting lazy, I'll try to go higher.

we already have one 1.8a C1 retail that cant do better then 2.7ghz. and he paid more money for it.

I'll say it again, C1 doesn't mean a great OCer.

mica

__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 (3.2 max OC), MSI P6N SLI plat, 4gigs corsair xms2, 2x 9800gtx KO in SLI, X-Fi XGamer, 2x Seagate Barracuda 250gb, Light-on 20x DVD, Thermaltake 750w PSU, air cooled with Ultama-90 and Antec 900 case....Soyo (24D6) 24" wide 14139 vantage

" Comparing the technical relevance of The Inquirer to Beyond3D is like comparing the technical prowess of Paris Hilton to John Carmack." -Albuquerque


[OCG] Fraging at it's finest.
micamica1217 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-14-02, 11:29 AM Thread Starter   #7
Klashe
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
Ya. That sounds like the right thing to do. Question though: Do B0 steppings produce more heat than C1 steppings, granted you have the same hardware? That, and do they require less voltage? Thanks.
Klashe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-15-02, 05:24 AM   #8
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Klashe
Ya. That sounds like the right thing to do. Question though: Do B0 steppings produce more heat than C1 steppings, granted you have the same hardware? That, and do they require less voltage? Thanks.
It has been claimed that C1 produce less heat, but frankly I don't believe that. It is still the same CPU, with only very minor changes. It's highly unlikely that this will affect the heat output in any measurable way.

The C1 stock voltage is actually higher than the B0 on- 1.525 vs 1.5v. How the chips respond to extra voltage is impossible to tell... the reports are just too variable (I have seen B0 chips benefiting exactly 0 from any extra voltage and the opposite too... same for C1).

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-15-02, 11:41 AM Thread Starter   #9
Klashe
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
This is true. In short then, the C1 is just a better stepping for higher frequencies. For instance, take a C1 2.53@3.0 and a B0 2.53@3.0. The C1 is _meant_ for higher clock frequencies because it's the more reliabe stepping and works well under these frequencies. B0 has already reached it's peak, supposedly. However, the B0 stepping is highly underestimated if you ask me. Ah well.
Klashe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-15-02, 12:19 PM   #10
phantom punisher
Member

 
phantom punisher's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: fort drum NY

 
Quote:
Originally posted by FIZZ3


It has been claimed that C1 produce less heat, but frankly I don't believe that. It is still the same CPU, with only very minor changes. It's highly unlikely that this will affect the heat output in any measurable way.

my bo stepping was about 2-5 deg c more at the speed of 2.85 @ 1.62v compared to my c1. its not scientific but that was my results running the different chips back to back on the same night. of course this may be indicutive of the c1 chips that will be high performers as mine can get to 3.45ish on 1.75v on air
phantom punisher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-15-02, 12:41 PM   #11
Overclocker456
Member

 
Overclocker456's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York

 
I wouldn't be so upset if got a B0-shrink 2.53GHz.. I'd open it up and test it out.. If it is a 2.53GHz B0-shrink you're in good shape, don't fall into the C1 buzz like I did, I bought a few C1's and they all overclocked like crap.. You have a real good chance of hitting 3GHz with it.. good luck..
Overclocker456 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-16-02, 06:39 AM   #12
markodude
Member

 
markodude's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Europe

 
agreed, some B0's are real good, especially 2.53's. My 2.53 ES is about as early as they get, yet with some extra voltage it clocks higher than my C1 2.50...my 2.50 does 2.85 Prime stable at default, yet doesn't benefit from any extra voltage on the boards I have used..

__________________

Main rig - E5-2697v2 12-Core, P9X79-PRO, 16GB Hyper-X 1866, Custom H20 on CPU, Dual Gigabyte 7990s, Intel S3700 SSD 800GB x2, 2TB WD HDD
markodude is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-16-02, 07:06 AM   #13
Falkentyne
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
I firmly believe that we won't see any consistent spectacular overclocks until Intel starts releasing 3.5+ ghz CPU's, and that stepping migrates down.

I consider this similar to the cB0 vs cC0 stepping for the 600e/700e chips. The first cA2 stepping of the 600e could only reach 756 mhz if you were unlucky, and 800-820 mhz if you were lucky. When the cB0's first appeared, there were tales of the 600e's hitting 900 out of the box, either with or without a minor voltage jump, and I bought one of the first cB0 600e's and mine hit 900 @ 1.7v. Some 700e's were reaching close to 1 ghz with very good cooling.

The cC0's didn't really improve very much, although cC0 700e's were reaching 1 ghz more reliably at default, while *many* 750 mhz cC0's were failing to reach past 900 without extreme cooling (!) which led crecedence to the theory that Intel was REMARKING 750's that passed the test, as 1 ghz's. cD0' 1000E's were a big boost, as some were reaching 1300 mhz with them; no idea about the slower chips, as the FSB would have to be VERY high...

The C1 stepping P4's should get better with time, and if not, perhaps the next stepping will.

And there is a BIG difference between getting 600E cB0 (many actaully felt these were remarked 800 EB's since virtually all of them reached 800 at default without a sweat), and 1.8 C1's that are overclocking to 3.5 ghz, which have pretty much been proved to be remarked 3.06's, versus ones that aren't.

Sorry if I sound confusing....
Falkentyne is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-16-02, 07:12 AM   #14
micamica1217
Member

 
micamica1217's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

 
Quote:
Sorry if I sound confusing....
you do not soud confusing at all....

and I agree with everything you said.

P.S. I miss my 600e

mica

__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 (3.2 max OC), MSI P6N SLI plat, 4gigs corsair xms2, 2x 9800gtx KO in SLI, X-Fi XGamer, 2x Seagate Barracuda 250gb, Light-on 20x DVD, Thermaltake 750w PSU, air cooled with Ultama-90 and Antec 900 case....Soyo (24D6) 24" wide 14139 vantage

" Comparing the technical relevance of The Inquirer to Beyond3D is like comparing the technical prowess of Paris Hilton to John Carmack." -Albuquerque


[OCG] Fraging at it's finest.
micamica1217 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-16-02, 07:41 AM   #15
markodude
Member

 
markodude's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Europe

 
Yeh agree with all that except the 1.8s being remarked 3.06s - I reckon the 1.8's we see doing amazing OC's are merely from the same batch as the new 3.06 chips, but were only tested at 1.8 as Dell put in a huge order for them asap........effectively some of them could have passed the 2.8 or 3.06 test but were never tested at that speed by Intel. Also there is the fact that HT is disabled although nobody seems to know how easy/hard that is for Intel to do, I would imagine it is already disabled by the testing stage in which case these could only have been 2.8's at best.

__________________

Main rig - E5-2697v2 12-Core, P9X79-PRO, 16GB Hyper-X 1866, Custom H20 on CPU, Dual Gigabyte 7990s, Intel S3700 SSD 800GB x2, 2TB WD HDD
markodude is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?