• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie DIY Watercooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NeoMoses

I've seen a lot of threads lately that start off with, "I'm new to watercooling, what do I need..." and "Is XXX a good watercooling setup/kit..." I'm going to try to help out a lot of newbies at once and post a HOWTO Do-It-Yourself file for setting up watercooling. It really is easy once you understand the basics of what you need, and the experience of putting it together yourself is very worthwhile. This guide is an introduction, not an all-inclusive guide. It will teach you how to setup a closed loop watercooling system for your CPU. Once you understand how to do this, other components can be easily watercooled as well.

What you will need:
  • CPU Waterblock with mounting hardware
  • Radiator
  • Pump
  • Tubing
  • Hose Clamps
  • Fill/Bleed Line and/or Reservoir
  • Fan for radiator
  • Distilled Water
  • Corrosion Prohibitor(highly recommended)

Here is the basic setup we will be doing:
wc1.gif

Description of each part. Check out the links highlighted in orange for a more detailed explanation.:

CPU Waterblock: Replaces your heatsink. It works the exact same way a heatsink works, except the working fluid is water, not air. There are many manufacturers of waterblocks. Among the more popular are Swiftech, DTek, Danger Den, and Gemini. There are many options in waterblocks, almost as many as in heatsinks.