Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Epox 8K3A+ question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-18-02, 03:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Epox 8K3A+ question


I am not currently ina RAID array,so my IDE 3&4 slots are open,is it possible to use these slots as extras so I can put my CDRW and my DVD on a different IDE?
Instead of running both on one cable?
Can this be done?

Thanks

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 12-18-02, 04:12 PM   #2
ronin1967
Member

 
ronin1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ

 
You can use them as IDE channels without RAID but only for non-optical devices. Put your HDD on 3 &4 and your CD/CR-RW/DVD's on 1&2
ronin1967 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-18-02, 04:33 PM Thread Starter   #3
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Ok great,thanks
Do I need to reload any drivers or Bios?

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-18-02, 05:47 PM   #4
ronin1967
Member

 
ronin1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ

 
assuming you loaded the drirver for the RAID controller when you loaded windows, you should have no problems(you probably remember during the beginning of Windows install it asked you to press F6 to specify 3rd party drivers). Just make sure you don't have a RAID array defined, plug the HDDs into 3&4, opticals into 1&2 and you should be good to go...
ronin1967 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-18-02, 05:54 PM Thread Starter   #5
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
I tryed it and no go,it wouldn't detect the hard drive.And no I didn't load the drivers when installing windows
I didnt think I would need it,I was wrong.

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-02, 04:46 AM   #6
rivercom9
Member

 
rivercom9's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
I was wondering the same thing. Can we install the hard drive to IDE 3 & 4 without needing to reinstall windows?

__________________
Avatar by DAGO. Thanks man!
My Heatware
rivercom9 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?