• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Does like every Mhz count?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RetroUO

I was considering building a folding 'farm' out of all my AT computers in my room. The best is at 166Mhz, but most are 75 and under and I have a 486 or two and even some that pre-date the 486. I have avout 5 or 6 of them. At those specs would it actually help much to have them folding? And at what point is it probly not worth my trouble? Would the pre-486s or even the 486s be worth setting up to fold?

Thx for the help. It'd be a while (a few months) before I could set this up but I figured I'd gather the info I need now instead of later, hehe.

ok, I'm kinda new to all of this (saw the inside of a computer for the first time 3 months ago) so I'm still learning.
Whats a beowulf cluster and what does folding not working in that type of thing mean to me? lol, sorry

I think that 166Mhz OK. I don't think anything below that will be adequate for folding, but others may be able to tell you the bare minimum in speed.

You can view the time deadlines here: http://folding.stanford.edu/psummary.html

I do know that my pentium pro 200's would make deadlines, but sometimes not by much.

Beowolf is where several computers are combined...like a super computer sort of. Not easy to do.

BTW, we are very happy to have you folding on the team, and appreciate the extra effort. Stanford has set some limits, however, that don't let us use some of the slower computers.

If you do genome work, there is no time limit. So you can use any rig you have. And the points will count here.

I have G@H working on my Mother's computer, and she doesn't leave it on. I just D/L whenever I'm there.

steve

skou said: