Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

To much time on your hands!!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-01, 11:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
jaydee116
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2001

 
To much time on your hands!!!


I wish I time to conger up stuff like this. Some of the stuff in here is great!!! Keep up the good work!!!

Also I am trying to get to 900 with my A7V and a Duron600. I have 320 megs of PC133.
Currently I am running at FSB105, multi at 7.5X and voltage at default. VIO 3.3. I have had it up to 850,FSB100,multi,8.5X with voltage bumped up, but I can't post anything higher. Any suggetions?
jaydee116 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-16-01, 11:30 AM   #2
Tachyon
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Arkansas

 
Were you able to POST above 8.5? Did you try to increase the FSB at 8.5? What voltage setting did you use at 8.5? And finally....what are you using for a HSF?
Tachyon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-01, 12:03 PM Thread Starter   #3
jaydee116
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2001

 
Quote:
Tachyon (Jan 16, 2001 11:30 a.m.):
Were you able to POST above 8.5? Did you try to increase the FSB at 8.5? What voltage setting did you use at 8.5? And finally....what are you using for a HSF?
No It would not post above 8.5, computer would not even start. Yes I tried moving the FSB at the 8.5X but no good. The only way I got it to be stable at 8.5X was to up the voltage to 1.775/1.80. It would post under that voltage but windows gave the error messages. I have one more setting above this but I can't even get it to run at all at 9X. My cooling is ok. Idle is 40C full load 42C. At higher voltages full load temps never got above 48C.
I am thinking it is the memory but not to sure.
jaydee116 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-01, 12:10 PM   #4
Tachyon
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Arkansas

 
What HSF do you have. I've found that changing the HSF (even if your temps seem ok) can make a difference.
Tachyon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-01, 12:49 PM Thread Starter   #5
jaydee116
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2001

 
Chrome Orb
jaydee116 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-01, 01:09 PM   #6
Tachyon
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Arkansas

 
That is a significant problem right there. Chrome Orbs are ok as a stock HSF but don't support overclocking well at all!! A Super Orb will do you better, but a good HSF like an Alpha will really make a difference for you.
Tachyon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-01, 01:59 PM Thread Starter   #7
jaydee116
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2001

 
If the temps are low what does it matter? Some kind of electrical interference? I also have a 80mm fan blowing on the Orb, another 80mm rear, and a 4.5" 85 cfm fan in the front blowing air into the case. MB is 24C witch is a little under room temp. The rear 80mm and the 4.5" are running off a seperate PS, everything else is running off the 300watt comp.PS.
jaydee116 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-01, 02:16 PM   #8
Tachyon
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Arkansas

 
Results of a test I performed recently:

#1 Duron 750 w/chrome orb - best stable boot was at 850 and no FSB increase

#2 Same chip with a super orb -
best stable boot was 900 and 103 FSB (927)

#3 Same chip with an Alpha and Sanyo Denki fan - best stable boot was 900 and 107 FSB (963)

I didn't write down the temps, but I never got higher than in the 40's although the temps did drop with each test.
Tachyon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-17-01, 05:52 AM   #9
Mykex
Member

 
Mykex's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Salem,Ma

 
jaydee116 - I agree on the ChromeOrb it is not very good for OCing. Check Anandtech's forums for any post from MikeWarrior and click on the link in his sig.

He did a pretty good writeup on chromeorbs and there inherent problems including there basic design causing lower than actual temp readings.

Myself, I had a ChromeOrb and in the short time I used it I was very less than impressed. Not only did it seem to struggle cooling but it held heat pretty well for something designed to dispurse heat. (always warm to touch)

Happiness and joy was found with a FOP32-1 . I cant complain except for the many installation horror stories I have heard. I use a cheese grater to put mine on...don't ask it works
Mykex is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?