Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Low 3dmark with high end gear

Thread Closed
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-01-03, 01:48 AM Thread Starter   #1
DaedalusX
Member

 
DaedalusX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: McConnell Air Force Base, Kansas

 
Low 3dmark with high end gear


Sorry to make a post that might come off like it belongs in the gripes and moans section, but I really take this as a serious concern.

To begin here are the specs of the machine in question, as of right now:

Abit KD7 motherboard (KT400, AGP 8X)
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ @ 2.11ghz
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (built by ati), Catalyst 3.0 drivers, DirectX 9
256MB Samsung PC3200 DDR (Cas 3)
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
Realtek NIC
20gb 7200rpm hd
40x12x48x LiteOn CDRW
32x CDROM
350w Allied PSU
Windows XP Professional

At this configuration I am getting barely 11k when I overclock my video card.

For some reason though, when I first bought the Radeon 9700Pro I was using an ASUS A7V333 with 256 PC2700 and an AMD XP 1700+, and without overclocking anything was able to get damn near 13k.

I just want to know why with all of this much better equipment, not to mention the fact that I'm actually using the card's AGP 8X capability, I'm barely able to squeak out a score thats thousands of 3dmarks shy of what I was getting with the crappier equipment.

I've tried installing the new 4in1 drivers, I made sure vsync was off, made sure there was not a trace of anything remotely unnecessary running in the background, I made sure my monitor refresh was at 85hz (the most for this res I get) which really shouldn't affect it too much. And I of course made sure AA and AF were off. Any clues guys?

I'm a classic overclocker, been doing it for a couple of years now so I'm pretty bewildered.
DaedalusX is offline  
Old 01-01-03, 12:33 PM   #2
Tebore
Member

 
Tebore's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto,Canada(I can see you....)

10 Year Badge
 
I heard some ppl who installed DX9 lowered their 3D mark.

__________________
UMPC:
Asus EEE 701(4G)
Laptops:
Lenovo T60p
Servers:
IBM XServ
Heatware
Tebore is offline  
Old 01-01-03, 12:51 PM   #3
Rafterman223
Member

 
Rafterman223's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

 
do you have a lot running in the background? and i'd try old catalyst drivers if you have the DX9 one

__________________
The Ancient Beast: Athlon XP 1700+ DLT3C JIUHB0310XPMW@ 1826 Mhz - Abit NF7-S v2.0 Motherboard - 2x 512 MB PC2700 CAS 2 Corsair Memory - 2x 80 GB Maxtor ATA133 HDDs in RAID 0 - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro @ stock - Soundblaster Audigy OEM - Pioneer 16x DVD-ROM - Lite-On 48x/12x/48x CD-RW - Windows XP Pro w/ SP1 - Alpha PAL 8045 w/ Panaflo L1A - Enermax 550W PSU - Cooler Master ATC-210

Monstrosity Au Courant: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Core i7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E 3.6GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 2011 130W Quad-Core - ASUS EAH6850 DC/2DIS/1GD5/V2 Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 - PC Power and Cooling Silencer 760W High Performance 80PLUS Silver SLI CrossFire ready Power Supply - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) - COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R2 - Cooler Master case w/ Bluray/DVD Drive/Burner - Saitek Eclipse II, Logitech wireless laser, Logitech 8 speakers/subwoofer & Bose Companion 2
Rafterman223 is offline  
Old 01-01-03, 12:59 PM   #4
nealric
Member

 
nealric's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: under the floorboards

 
you could always try a fresh install of windows-
you should definetly be getting more-
I do better with my gf4ti4200!

__________________
I own a computer!
nealric is offline  
Old 01-01-03, 01:15 PM   #5
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
did you reformat before putting the card in the new system? also try setting the Agp to 4x there are some problems with the 8x on the early KT400 mobos

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline  
Old 01-01-03, 01:17 PM   #6
KLowD9x
Member



Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lugoff, SC

 
Make sure all of the settings are on performance. Vertical sync should be OFF. AA of course should be off. And everything else to the lowest quality settings. I could only get 13K out of my friends 9700P.
KLowD9x is offline  
Old 01-01-03, 04:56 PM   #7
Gravity Man
Member

 
Gravity Man's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Edina, MN

 
I noticed your memory is CAS 3. I noticed a subtantial performance hit going from CAS 2 to CAS 3 in 3dmark, even though FSB speeds were much higher with CAS 3.
Gravity Man is offline  
Old 01-01-03, 05:24 PM   #8
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
format it and install eveything agian
DDR-PIII is offline  
Old 01-01-03, 06:03 PM   #9
RangerJoe
All that is Man!

 
RangerJoe's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Stillwater, Oklahoma

 
gravity man brought up a great point..going from cas 2.5 to cas 2 i gained 500+ points with my gf3 ti200....so imagine goin to cas2 from cas 3....

but i would say go with the formating hard drive and reinstallation idea..thats a winner

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.92ghz --- Asus Striker Extreme
Lian Li V2000B---Corsair 620w PSU
8gb DDR2 Patriot (4x2gb)---Samsung Spinpoint T 500gb
Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme

My name is actually Phillip.
RangerJoe is offline  
Old 01-01-03, 07:15 PM   #10
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
i think everyone has given some good ideas here but i wanted to comment on something you said.
"For some reason though, when I first bought the Radeon 9700Pro I was using an ASUS A7V333 with 256 PC2700 and an AMD XP 1700+, and without overclocking anything was able to get damn near 13k."

even tho you did upgrade with better stuff that doesnt mean bettter perfomance right away.software and settings usually are the culprits here.but if set up it up correctly it bet $$$ i could and others here could make it run just as fast as the new stuff u purchased.

once u get it fixed i mean.and im not saying im better a tweaker its just what u upgraded too, really isnt faster or better.it does have more potentintal tho.

its kinda going back to pinkys post about new hardware http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...hreadid=149942

its a persoal thing so pls dont take this in a bad way.plus once u get this setup just right it will be really fast

__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline  
Old 01-02-03, 01:11 AM   #11
Thelemac
Administratively Deficient

 
Thelemac's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Canton, MI

10 Year Badge
 
Try posting in one of the software sections or video cards. Or the 3dmark section.

__________________
42 | Sig Assassin

*click*
Thelemac is offline  

Thread Closed


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?