Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

NB cooling

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-03, 06:23 PM Thread Starter   #1
bananaman
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
Question NB cooling


lo,

I am getting and A7N8X mid next week and have read all the threads and from what it seems the Northbridge cooling leaves a bit to be desired so my first job before anytihng else will be to AS3 the NB, but i ahve also ordered a 4cm fan that i thought i could attach above to give just that be extra cooling (it was only about £3) but i realised i dont really knowe how i am goign to attach it, has anyone else done this, if so please help!!! even if you havent suggestions would be great

cheers

NANA

EDIT: by attach i mean attach to the top og the NB itself somehow
bananaman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-03-03, 06:54 PM   #2
Top Hat Theater
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lost in Thought

 
I thought of doing the same thing but at 197MHz FSB, the heatsink got so hot, I couldn't leave my finger on it for more than a second so I feared melting the plastic of the fan. Anywho, I picked up a copper active cooling solution from Vantec. I don't know where you'd find one across the Atlantic but here it is at Newegg: http://www.newegg.com/app/Viewproduc...rchFor=CCB-A1C

~THT
Top Hat Theater is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-03, 07:43 PM   #3
flyfisher
Member

 
flyfisher's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Concrete, Washington

 
is it just a fan or is it attached to a heat sink?

__________________
asus P5KC Q6600 @2.6
Asus A7N8X xp2400 Raid 0
flyfisher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-03, 09:02 PM   #4
Top Hat Theater
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lost in Thought

 
It's a fan within an all-copper heatsink...very much like a blue/crystal orb only made of copper

~THT
Top Hat Theater is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-03, 09:21 PM   #5
flyfisher
Member

 
flyfisher's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Concrete, Washington

 
Thanks THT!

I just bought one at newegg, looks GOOD!

But, my question was aimed at Bananaman LOL

__________________
asus P5KC Q6600 @2.6
Asus A7N8X xp2400 Raid 0
flyfisher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-03, 09:37 PM   #6
Rav
Member

 
Rav's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philthadelphia

10 Year Badge
 
I took off the stock Asus NB heatsink, it uses thermal tape, and it was only making contact around the edges! I have replaced it with a copper vantec cooler attached with AS3 (the one linked above). I put the Asus heatsink on my VRM's. Still burning in the system so haven't pushed too hard, but its good for 175Mhz FSB so far.

-Rav

__________________

+ Intel i860, i760, i530
+ I kill threads like a mass-murderer
Rav is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-03, 10:50 PM   #7
abb1
Member

 
abb1's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Trenton, Ont. Canada

 
All I did was attach a 40mm Sunon to the stock heatsink and it works great. Here is a pic my nb cooling
Abb
abb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-03, 10:58 PM   #8
rickd
Member

 
rickd's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002

 
abb1 what its attached with supperglue RickD
rickd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 02:05 AM Thread Starter   #9
bananaman
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
fly fisher, it is just a ys-tech 4cm fan that i was goign to attach somehow so it looked like abb1's

did you do it with super glue??

i might end up getting a nre HSF for the NB, altohugh if i AS£ and 4cm fan it should be alright

->you guys have ScrapHeap Challenge right
bananaman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 03:59 AM   #10
skane
Member



Join Date: Aug 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Top Hat Theater
Anywho, I picked up a copper active cooling solution from Vantec. ~THT
THT, is that copper Vantec Iceberg cooler a drop-in replacement using the pushpins? Was there any modification needed to make it fit? I just ordered one today, not sure what to expect though. TIA.
skane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 06:49 AM   #11
abb1
Member

 
abb1's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Trenton, Ont. Canada

 
Quote:
Originally posted by rickd
abb1 what its attached with supperglue RickD
No, I attached it with Aluminum Foil Tape.
Abb
abb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 06:57 AM Thread Starter   #12
bananaman
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
hmm, so you used aluminium tape, have never sen that stuff over here in England. Will have to go searching.

Any other ideas on attaching, was thinking putting a couple of screws that would slightly self tap into the Heat Sink and maybe a dab of superglue to be sure, but dont want to mess abou ttoo much incase i need to RMA

NANA

Keep the suggestions coming in
bananaman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 07:05 AM   #13
abb1
Member

 
abb1's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Trenton, Ont. Canada

 
No, do not use screws. You would only be asking for trouble. Aluminum Foil Tape you can find in any Hardware store. It is usually used for ductwork.
Abb
abb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 07:25 AM Thread Starter   #14
bananaman
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
i will go and look for that today then , any chance of some more shots of your NB so i can see exactly hoe you did it

cheers for the help

NANA
bananaman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 07:58 AM   #15
rush69
Member



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Russian Federation

 
would Thermaltake Crystal Orb be ok for NB cooling?
rush69 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 10:34 AM   #16
flyfisher
Member

 
flyfisher's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Concrete, Washington

 
Bananaman, I have seen a lot of fans "tapped" into the heatsink
(screwing into between the fins) the way your thinking, but the little marks would show.
You could also put some little dabs of silicone where the screws attach to help lock them in.
I was thinking of going the same route with a new fan, but the
copper Vantec was too good looking to pass up

__________________
asus P5KC Q6600 @2.6
Asus A7N8X xp2400 Raid 0
flyfisher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 10:37 AM   #17
Deathknight
Member

 
Deathknight's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago

 
Actually the fan on the 9700pro (made by ati version) is screwed right into the heatsink fins. You can definatly tell if you remove the fan later but it should hold with the right sized screws
Deathknight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 10:52 AM   #18
abb1
Member

 
abb1's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Trenton, Ont. Canada

 
All I did was attach the Aluminum Tape on the flat side of the heatsink and then took a thin piece and wrapped it around the fan to secure it. You do not have to worry about it falling off that way, and it will not do any damage to the heatsink, and of course it is easy.
Abb
abb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 11:43 AM   #19
Top Hat Theater
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lost in Thought

 
Quote:
Originally posted by rush69
would Thermaltake Crystal Orb be ok for NB cooling?
No, it will not fit. The dimensions of the Crystal Orb do not match up with the mounting holes on the board. You can still use it but you'd need to use something like Arctic Alumina/Silver Adhesive.

~THT
Top Hat Theater is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 01:03 PM Thread Starter   #20
bananaman
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
tihnk i'll go with the ALuminium tape, easier to remove the evidence if need be.

Wouild removing the TIM and putting AS3 in any way effect the RMA if something does go wrong with the board in general? Just wondering, havent had to RMA before, but ppl seem to be RMAing all ove rthe place

NANA
bananaman is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?