Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Codegen 450w PSU ?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-03, 12:42 AM Thread Starter   #1
Tyfoid
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000

 
Codegen 450w PSU ?


Well recently I burnt up an Abit NV7-133R and my Athlon XP 2000+ and Abit is swearing I wasn't providing enough power. This seemed odd to me since I was using a 300 watt Antec. But since I am having to replace both my proc and my board I didn't have much cash left over for the PSU so I went with a 450 watt Codegen (found them on ebay for 11.50 buy now). Later when I get the money I will go back to antec or possibly try a sparkle. I guess my question is does anyone else have one of these el cheapo Codegen 450 watt PSUs and if so what kind of ratings is putting out? 3.3v, 5v, and 12v? By the way the reason I went with this PSU is its actually recommended AMD, but does that really mean anything?

Any input is appreciated.
Tyfoid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 03:18 AM   #2
larrymoencurly
Member

 
larrymoencurly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

10 Year Badge
 
I read about a blown Deer PSU (Deer makes Codegen) with transistors rated for only 40% as much current as those found in most PSUs of the same power rating, or 50% as much as those in my bottom of the barrel Maxpower, which would make Codegen below the bottom of the barrel. Do you want to take a chance with a company that does that? That 300W Fortron from Directron.com for $27 would have been a better bargain and enough to power about anything.
larrymoencurly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 01:19 PM Thread Starter   #3
Tyfoid
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000

 
Heres the deal:
Right now I am running an Antec 300 watt PSU, and about 2 weeks ago I had (notice I said had) an XP 2000+ on an Abit NV7-133R. I was powering 2 hard drives and a CDRW. Well the board, the 2000+ and my radeon 7500 all burnt up. When I returned the MB to Abit they said it was due to having too small of a power supply for what I was running. And that I should visith the AMD site and invest in a 400 watt or larger power supply from any of the manufacturers listed there, since they are "approved by AMD".

So does that mean AMD is backing questionable companies (trash)?
Tyfoid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 01:30 PM Thread Starter   #4
Tyfoid
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000

 
I guess there isn't much I can do about it now, I already ordered it... damn! I guess lack of research may just kick me in the ass....
However when they (ordered 2 of them) I will let everyone know how they perform.
Tyfoid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-03, 02:40 PM   #5
Spacemonkey
Member

 
Spacemonkey's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 3rd Planet

 
You might get lucky.
Spacemonkey is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?