• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

ADSL and Knoppix

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ronin1967

Perhaps some of you have already seen my request buried in another thread, for those of you I apologize, but it was suggested I start a new thread so my problem would get better attention.

I am trying to run Knoppix 3.1 it seems to have a problem with my ADSL/PPPOE. I think the issue maybe be with the built-in ADSL/PPPOE configuration utility. I have run the utility and it finishes and seems to be working, however I am unable to connect using any other browsers included in the CD.

I must begin by saying I am a Linux newbie.

One of the reasons I suspect the ADSL/PPPOE utility is I am able to get Mandrake 9 to run on any computer I try and the Knoppix will not. Also I use Earthlink DSL and I notice that I get the same result from the utility whether or not I enter factual information. I don't think the utility ever makes a connection or even tries.

Could someone please guide me in the right direction, perhaps show me commands to run or tests etc...

BUMP***

also let me add:

VIA Rhine NIC(built into my EPOX motherboard)

Earthlink PPPOE DSL Dynamic username/password required
DNS: 207.69.188.187 207.217.120.83

Modem: SpeedStream 5360

No router/switch/hub

The NIC is found as eth0, the configuration utility runs and finishes, but I don't think it works. Is there a way to test or configure manually?

Since knoppix is by default a CD-based distro only, and CDs aren´t writable, it can´t just store its settings anywhere. What you do is, making a floppy with your special config settings like it tells you in the knoppix readme. (at least this was true last time I looked at knoppix last summer)

For checking out your pppoe line, try the folloing command:

/usr/sbin/pppoe -I eth0 -A