Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

amusing fool

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-03, 01:46 AM Thread Starter   #1
engjohn
Senior Member

 
engjohn's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SoCal

 
amusing fool


From ebay... http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2087300544
Quote:
This auction is for a Pentium II slot 1 processor. This processor is unique in that the MHz speed/rating has not been locked! The base speed is 233MHz, but with motherboards that control the processor speed (commonly called SoftCPU), the MHz rating can be the limits of the processor and motherboard together. This is a processor that hasn't had the speed set at the factory. I have been able to reliably run this processor at 400Mhz on an Abit motherboard without a single glitch in my home server for 6+ months (which was constantly running). THIS IS NOT A PROCESSSOR THAT HAS BEEN OVERCLOCKED AND THIS IS NOT OVERCLOCKING! The speed was never set! I have found the optimal speed and voltage for my hardware and I left it at that setting.
If that is NOT oc'ing what is it ?!?

__________________
<--- Dave and My Girlfriend in Atlanta, Ga at the Ritz Carlton!!! Yahoo!! (I took the PIC!!)

und KEINE EIER!!!
My Heatware
engjohn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-03, 01:57 AM   #2
Stedeman
The Half Asleep Member

 
Stedeman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lewiston Maine

 
it's OCing if the base speed is 233, but because it wasen't locked by intel he is thinking that it's not

__________________
My HEATWARE My eBay
Stedeman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-03, 06:13 AM   #3
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
I have a P-II 233 at work that has an unlocked multiplier. I've been running it at 300 since last May. Could of swore I was overclocking, but guess not.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-03, 07:55 AM   #4
cw823
Honeybadger Moderator

 
cw823's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Earth

10 Year Badge
 
I wonder what the "optimal voltage" was.

__________________
I can explain it to you, but I cannot understand it for you

honeybadger moderator smacks the **** out of people that cause issues in the classified section

Heatware: cw823
Paypal: paypal @ cw823 dot com

Adak - My spreader bar was shaped using a pair of vise grips, a hammer, and the tow receiver on my pick up

Support your forum:
http://www.newegg.com/
cw823 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-03, 08:56 AM   #5
Bouklah23
Disabled



Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago IL.

 
I think what he meant by that was that since it was a beta chip it never had a set speed.. although it said 233 on the chip it was never a default speed on the chip, ex. Celeron 300a could easily run at 450 as we all know, but the 233 wasnt set in stone and could run at 300 since it wasnt a final release.. anywho.. intel still did release it to the testers as A 233 wich technically makes it a 233. I think im going to bust out my old celly 300 again ;D
Bouklah23 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-03, 01:38 PM   #6
JaY_III
Senior of BX

 
JaY_III's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
um, he does say it is an ES with no speed printed on the CPU...
I have a fully unlocked 350, and a downward unlocked 333... they both post as a 233 untill i set it up in the BIOS (or dont use jumpers)...

And as it is an ES.....
JaY_III is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-03, 04:05 PM   #7
phantom punisher
Member

 
phantom punisher's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: fort drum NY

 
wow that is a funny one.
i can see my auction now......
"i have a intel cpu for sale that has been mislabled. it says 2.4 but after finding the optmium settings it has occured to me that this is actualy a 3.1 cpu thast must have been leaked from the intel prototype factory"
phantom punisher is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?