Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

a7n8x support bartons?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-03, 12:33 AM Thread Starter   #1
OCn00b
Member

 
OCn00b's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002

 
a7n8x support bartons?


Might be a stupid question but does anybody know if the a7n8x will support the bartons when they come out?

__________________
"If anyone asks me why he should love his neighbor, I would not know how to answer him, and I could only ask in my turn why he should pose such a question. It is the individual who is not interested in his fellow men who has the greatest difficulties in life and provides the greatest injury to others. It is from among such individuals that all human failures spring." -Alfred Adler
OCn00b is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-10-03, 07:23 AM   #2
Mambo
Member

 
Mambo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Edmonton Canada

 
yes
Mambo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-03, 12:49 PM   #3
IceMan3928
Member

 
IceMan3928's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Little Rock, AR (AR is Arkansas NOT Arizona!!!)

 
if they are to support the barton they will require a 200MHz FSB, if thats true then how come i can only get 185MHz on mine?

__________________
Athlon XP 1700+ tbredB 2400MHz @ 2v
1.25GB PC3200
ATI Radeon 9700pro
PNY GeForce 3 Ti-500 has found a new home but is still loved 11014 3DMarks|OC3D
Abit NF7-S
D-Tek TC-4 water cooling
proudly folding for team 32!!!
Avatar made as small as possible to save bandwidth
Member of the рс fan club :p
IceMan3928 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-03, 02:56 PM Thread Starter   #4
OCn00b
Member

 
OCn00b's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002

 
Sweet, glad I won't have to buy a new board when I upgrade

__________________
"If anyone asks me why he should love his neighbor, I would not know how to answer him, and I could only ask in my turn why he should pose such a question. It is the individual who is not interested in his fellow men who has the greatest difficulties in life and provides the greatest injury to others. It is from among such individuals that all human failures spring." -Alfred Adler
OCn00b is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-03, 04:15 PM   #5
Pjotr
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by IceMan3928
if they are to support the barton they will require a 200MHz FSB, if thats true then how come i can only get 185MHz on mine?
Wrong. Bartons will run 166 MHz FSB. AMD has not announced any 200 FSB CPUs yet. There is only a rumour that they might, but they are probably still evaluating it. We might see them, we might not.

So yes, A7N8X will support Barton.
Pjotr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-03, 06:19 PM   #6
IceMan3928
Member

 
IceMan3928's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Little Rock, AR (AR is Arkansas NOT Arizona!!!)

 
oh, i thought it was official that they had announced 200MHz CPU's, well darn... I was hoping that Asus was holding out on me and planned to open it up all the way to 200 with a BIOS update

__________________
Athlon XP 1700+ tbredB 2400MHz @ 2v
1.25GB PC3200
ATI Radeon 9700pro
PNY GeForce 3 Ti-500 has found a new home but is still loved 11014 3DMarks|OC3D
Abit NF7-S
D-Tek TC-4 water cooling
proudly folding for team 32!!!
Avatar made as small as possible to save bandwidth
Member of the рс fan club :p
IceMan3928 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-03, 08:21 PM   #7
itim100
Member

 
itim100's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MD

 
"if they are to support the barton they will require a 200MHz FSB, if thats true then how come i can only get 185MHz on mine?" - IceMan3928

The new beta 1002 bios goes clear up to 250mhz FSB.
itim100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-03, 06:55 AM   #8
Pjotr
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by IceMan3928
oh, i thought it was official that they had announced 200MHz CPU's, well darn... I was hoping that Asus was holding out on me and planned to open it up all the way to 200 with a BIOS update
You can set up to 250 MHz, but the board won't run that high frequencies. If you look at ASUS home page and product description, it clearly states the board supports 100/133/166 MHz FSB frequencies. It does not state it supports 200 MHz. No AMD motherboard sold today supports that officially, even though you might be able to run some of them at that frequency.
Pjotr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-03, 06:01 PM   #9
Cowboy X

 
Cowboy X's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Folding in Barbados

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by IceMan3928
if they are to support the barton they will require a 200MHz FSB, if thats true then how come i can only get 185MHz on mine?
You are likely being limited by either your CPU or vcore or both . 1.9 Ghz is a very respectable clock speed for a 1700 Palomino or T'bred A .

__________________
1/Asus P6T SE,Core i7 920 ( H2O ),ATI Radeon 5870 ( H2O ),OCZ Reaper 6 GB,OCZ Z 1000W modular ps,Seagate 7200.8 250 x2,WD Caviar Black 1TB,Nec AD-7170A,LG GGC Asus USB3.0 and SATA 6g cardBlu-ray/HD DVD drive and burner,Modified Koolance Tower , Swiftech GTZ, Koolance chipset and memory blocks, Modified Maze4 GPU cooler,Vista Ultimate 64
2/Sony Vaio SR590,Core 2 Duo P7450, ATI 4570m, 4GB DDR2, Win 7 64bit, Crucial M4
3/PS3 80 GB and 160 GB
Intermittent FOLDING: system 1, ATI 5870 and PS3 for Team 32
" Fear of GOD is the beginning of wisdom "
"The grass withereth, the flower fadeth, but the word of our GOD shall stand forever."

Fold for Team 32
Cowboy X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-03, 06:08 PM   #10
cruc1fy
Member

 
cruc1fy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: California

 
Quote:
Originally posted by IceMan3928
if they are to support the barton they will require a 200MHz FSB, if thats true then how come i can only get 185MHz on mine?
get a newer bios. I've gotten mine to boot with a 211MHz FSB. I haven't tried to hit 250.
cruc1fy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-03, 06:41 PM   #11
scott123
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA

 
Quote:
get a newer bios. I've gotten mine to boot with a 211MHz FSB. I haven't tried to hit 250.
Getting it to boot is one thing, getting it to actually run something is another thing.

Scott
scott123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-03, 06:58 PM   #12
MDA
Member

 
MDA's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In the Dark!!

 
Hang on, i thought the reason people couldn't hit the high fsb's 200+ was because of the non-pci/agp lock? Arn't these preasent on the A7N8X, if so, how come were not seeing people with massive fsb overclocks 220+? I know most of the Tbred A's and B's can do over 200fsb easy so whats going on, am i missing something.......i was all set to get this motherboard and now i just get the feeling people have hyped the nforce2 boards up too much and their not performing to peoples expectations.

Please give me hope!

MDA.
MDA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-03, 07:44 PM   #13
Pjotr
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by MDA
Hang on, i thought the reason people couldn't hit the high fsb's 200+ was because of the non-pci/agp lock? Arn't these preasent on the A7N8X, if so, how come were not seeing people with massive fsb overclocks 220+? I know most of the Tbred A's and B's can do over 200fsb easy so whats going on, am i missing something.......i was all set to get this motherboard and now i just get the feeling people have hyped the nforce2 boards up too much and their not performing to peoples expectations.

Please give me hope!

MDA.
PCI is locked at 33 MHz, AGP follows the FSB unless you set it to a specific frequency like 66 MHz in BIOS.

The nForce2 boards seems to do some 185 MHz with stock setup. After that you're getting into north bridge problems like overheating and lack of Voltage. The 220+ FSB people are often Epox users with a Voltage mod for the north bridge. Some reaches 200+ MHz without this, but often with better than default cooling on the north bridge.
Pjotr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-03, 08:30 PM   #14
cruc1fy
Member

 
cruc1fy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: California

 
Quote:
Originally posted by scott123

Getting it to boot is one thing, getting it to actually run something is another thing.

Scott
It does run like that. I burned in the processor all night and it was running strong. It sometimes freezes in 3D games when I have it set that high, though, so that's why I'm at 195*12.5. I haven't tried maxing out the stock voltage yet, though, so you never know.
cruc1fy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-17-03, 04:32 AM   #15
Chris1980
Member



Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany

 
I think so...but there are some people telling that they will fit only to a coming new socket (754)....
Chris1980 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?