Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Win Reinstall???

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-03, 10:47 PM Thread Starter   #1
orion25
Folding in memory of my dads, Tim B. & Mike B.

 
orion25's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alabama

 
Question Win Reinstall???


I have a computer with Win 98 installed on it. I tried booting from the Win 98 (full OEM) CD to reinstall but it only replaced the OS. I want to totally wipe out the hard drive and start over. How do I do this?

Ryan
orion25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-03, 10:59 PM   #2
ronin1967
Member

 
ronin1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ

 
You need to format the HDD first. This is easy to do and you already have all the tools you need. Boot to the Win98 CD. It will bring you to a menu:

1. Start Windows 98 Setup from CD-ROM
2. Sart Computer with CD-ROM support
3. Sart Computer without CD-ROM support

Choose option #2

The computer will then load the CD-ROM drivers and dump yuo at an A:\ promt.

Here is where you play with DOS

at the A:\ prompt type D: this should bring you to the CD drive(use which ever letter is appropriate

then once at the D:\ prompt type CD\Win98 this should bring you to the Win98 directory on the CD

then type Format C: this will run the format utility on your C: drive, once again you the appropriate letters.

then when format is complete, restart, boot to the CD, choose option 1, and Windows will install to a clean HDD
ronin1967 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-03, 11:24 PM Thread Starter   #3
orion25
Folding in memory of my dads, Tim B. & Mike B.

 
orion25's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alabama

 
Thanks for the help! It is doing its thing now.

One more question, how do I create multiple partitions? I would like to make this a dual boot machine with Win98 and Linux. It has a 20g HDD. I would like to have 10gb for Win 98 and 10gb for Linux.

This is a backup rig so I can corrupt the HDD without worry. Please help.
orion25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-03, 11:30 PM Thread Starter   #4
orion25
Folding in memory of my dads, Tim B. & Mike B.

 
orion25's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alabama

 
Damn this Format is SSSSLLLLLOOOOWWWWWW........
orion25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-03, 11:31 PM   #5
ronin1967
Member

 
ronin1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ

 
Install Windows first, then use a 3rd party utility like Partition Magic to create the Partitions(you won't need 10GB for Linux, you could probably get away with half that). Then boot to the linux CD(which distro?)and it's menu driven, it will see the partitions and install to the space allocated, it will also load a boot loader(Grub or LILO)which will create a menu when you 1st start your machine(offering the 2 OS's).
ronin1967 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?