• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Im building a new DDR system! Help!!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

comppimp

Registered
Hey guys! This is my first time posting a messege. I think the site is great and packed full with usefull info.

Ok, I am building a new system for my birthday and ive decided to go with DDR. I've narrowed it to two motherboard's: the FIC AD11 and the BioStar M7MIA. Ive looked at both and I liked them both by my standards. One major difference though is the price. The lowwest price ive found for the BioStar mobo is $129. The FIC mobo cost $168. These prices are using pricewatch. Im going to hopefully OC the processor im going to put in it. Im going for a Duron 800 or T-Bird 800. I also need help deciding which CPU to use. I am on a VERY tight budget. I really dont want to OC the cpu alot...only by 100-200mhz. Thanks alot!!!!!!!

ALSO!!!!!!!! Im am considering the IWill KA266 motherboard. This one cost $162. Remember, I am on a TIGHT budget!

-comppimp
irc.vortex-irc.net

dude, if u r on a tight budget, dont go DDR.
get yourself a nice MSI or EPoX KT133a board, and a Duron 800. Stay SDR for at least a year. let DDR come into full swing be4 u buy.
it's an infant rite now.

But the thing is I wanna keep this system for a long time without havin to upgrade. And also the prices of SDR vs DDR mobo's are almost identical. So instead of buying SDR mobo and SDR ram now and then havin to upgrade the memory and mobo, just buy DDR now.

I'm running a Biostar M7MIA setup and it works great!(now that I figured out how to set it up properly).

1.2gig Socket A thunderbird 266fsb
biostar m7mia motherboard
256meg pc2100 ddr membory from samsung

Just make sure you got a decent heatsink/fan.

Before you leap and get the A7A266, you'd better take a look at www.lostcircuits.com