Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Best M/Bd for an XP1900+ with SD-Ram???

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-03, 02:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
fritzman
Member

 
fritzman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tauranga - New Zealand

10 Year Badge
 
Best M/Bd for an XP1900+ with SD-Ram???


Help...

All you MSI users.... which is the best board for me to buy for this cpu please, that still takes my SD-Ram, or do I have to bite the bullet and by some DDR???
fritzman is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-17-03, 02:35 PM   #2
Omega Destroyer
Member

 
Omega Destroyer's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alberta

10 Year Badge
 
I would say get the DDR, the increased memory bandwith will go a long way. SD will cripple your cpu. Plus you don't want to have to buy another motherboard again when you decide to use DDR (although most that support sd also have DDR support as well).

__________________
PIII 750@840
256 Megs 133@149
Vanta (cooled by Iceberq)
Core=125@165 Ram=125@179

Temp...burns finger when touched (No actual temperature sensors available)
"No talking.....no listening either....Do you hear me?"
Omega Destroyer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-03, 08:43 AM   #3
oo_7
Member

 
oo_7's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Norway

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Omega Destroyer
I would say get the DDR, the increased memory bandwith will go a long way. SD will cripple your cpu. Plus you don't want to have to buy another motherboard again when you decide to use DDR (although most that support sd also have DDR support as well).
I would have to agree with that. At the shop i get my stuff at they dont even stock SDRAM boards. Also if u get a mobo with DDR, just get 128Mb ram brick for the time been... BUT u will be able to put more DDR in at a later stage....
DDR makes a huge difference. I got a gf4Ti4400, and at the time had an SDRAM mobo, but i got only 6300 in 3dMark.. I then got a new kt3 Ultra with ddr and put another 3500 points more on 3dMark.. If u can spare the money go for DDR...

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel i7 2600K 3.4Ghz @ 4.5Ghz
Corsair H80
Corsair Domination DHX+ 1600Mhz 4GB @ 1866Mhz
Corsair 550w PSU
Corsair 120Gb Force 3 Harddrive
GeForce GTX570 @ 822/1644/3.9Ghz (gpu/Shader/Mem)
NZXT Phantom Big Tower (Vadar Black)
oo_7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-03, 01:12 AM   #4
deez
Member

 
deez's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Austin, TX

10 Year Badge
 
As these guys mentioned you will get better performance from DDR, but since you asked the K7T Turbo2 is a nice SDRAM board.

__________________
heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=6394
deez is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-03, 02:44 AM   #5
LittlePiggie
Member

 
LittlePiggie's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oregon

 
if you really don't want to buy the DDR, you could buy a board that supports both...
LittlePiggie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-03, 03:08 AM Thread Starter   #6
fritzman
Member

 
fritzman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tauranga - New Zealand

10 Year Badge
 
That's exactly what I have done..... ECS K7S5A and it is going great.

My P4-rig has it's motherboard back in Taiwan at present, so I have thrown my stick of DDR at it, and it is running really well.

Windows XP picked up all the necessary changes in the repair function, and it is as though I have my own PC back running again.

What a (temporary) relief!!

Great idea, and a great stable board...... not a single crash in sight. Temps stable around 30 degrees, so I'm a happy chappy.
fritzman is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-03, 03:33 AM   #7
LittlePiggie
Member

 
LittlePiggie's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oregon

 
lol, I forgot to look at the date of your last post . I'm glad you worked it out.
LittlePiggie is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?