Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

How well do you think this would fold?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-03, 08:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
Talking How well do you think this would fold?


Check the link and give me your answer. Linky! Can you imagine what the Stanford servers would do once it started sending WU's in?
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-03, 08:28 PM   #2
Edward2
Member


 
Edward2's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Folding@Home in Ball Ground, GA

10 Year Badge
 
The rest of us would never be able to get any WU's.

__________________
Q9300 @ 3.4GHz, Asus P5Q Pro, 4GB OCZ Platinum DDR2-1066, GTX580 @ 900GPU, OCZ Vendetta 2, PC P&C 750W
i5-3570K @ 4.5GHz, Asus P8Z77, 4GB G Skill DDR3-1333, GTX580 @ 900GPU, CM Hyper 212+ HS/F, Corsair 850W
4x 6180SE @ 2.75GHz, SM H8QGi-F, 32GB G Skill DDR3-1333, CM Hyper 212+ HS/F, Redundant 1400W


Folding User Stats
Edward2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-03, 08:37 PM   #3
bubba gump
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CA, USA

 


Hmm, cancer solved in 10 years?

But wow...if only i could get my hand on one of those......

/me thinks evily

Brian
bubba gump is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-03, 08:49 PM   #4
axlecrusher
Member

 
axlecrusher's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland

 
Wow! I want one !! *Must devise plan to obtain one.

Axle
axlecrusher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-03, 09:11 PM   #5
Is_907

 
Is_907's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Keller, TX

10 Year Badge
 
forget the whole system i'll take just a single node =)

__________________

Castiel (Desktop Rig) - i7-3770; 16GB DDR3; 256GB Crucial M4 + 600GB RAID0 array; Asus GTX460 1GB.


Folding User Stats
Is_907 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-03, 10:32 AM   #6
cmcquistion
IT Director Senior



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Tennessee

 
drooling.....

__________________
Wanna prove your computer is actually good for something?
Why not Fold Proteins for Team 32?


Step-by-Step: How to Build a Cheap and Quiet AMD Dually.
Step-by-Step: Building a Quiet PC from the Ground Up.
Step-by-Step: How to Quiet those Hard Drives.
How to remove Spyware and Immunize yourself from future infection.

Please read and obey the Signature Rules.
cmcquistion is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-03, 10:41 AM   #7
portorock
Member

 
portorock's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Quantico, Va but am from Queens, NY

 
man, that's a sweet gaming puter I'd love to have that thing fold for me for just one day
portorock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-03, 06:29 PM   #8
Anteraan
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis

 
Ok, so if Team 32 could pull a heist on this thing, you think we'd be able to keep it a secret once we started cranking out WU's in fractions of seconds?

Think of it, the bottleneck would be the connection to Stanford, lol.
Anteraan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-03, 07:51 PM   #9
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Anteraan
Ok, so if Team 32 could pull a heist on this thing, you think we'd be able to keep it a secret once we started cranking out WU's in fractions of seconds?

Think of it, the bottleneck would be the connection to Stanford, lol.
We'd have to run over 10,000 instances, could that even be done? Or we could run like 2 instances per CPU so like what, 22k? That's just nuts.

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-03, 12:12 AM   #10
Loud
Member

 
Loud's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lynchburg, Virgina

 
Does the Hypertransport feature allow the CPUs to be clustered into virtual processors? If so, the 4 processor limit kicks in, so we'd have to group 2500 CPUs into each processor.

Let's see ... 2500 CPUs at 2GHz each ... I don't think even the largest Gro WU would bring it to 100%. It'd be spitting out completed WUs like peanut shells.

So ... this thing's ... where ... at NASA? Ah! Sandia National Labs ...

Anyone know anybody there? I mean, they can't simulate ... secret stuff ... 24/7 ... can they?
Loud is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-03, 08:25 AM   #11
Is_907

 
Is_907's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Keller, TX

10 Year Badge
 
"Opteron cluster at Sandia National Labs," << Loud =)
i used to live in the headquarters of Phillips Petroleum and one of their IT guys was going to show me through their computer place... they had Cray and Beauwulf clusters all over the place however he had to move to China unexpectedly for work and so i never got to see that wonderful place =)

__________________

Castiel (Desktop Rig) - i7-3770; 16GB DDR3; 256GB Crucial M4 + 600GB RAID0 array; Asus GTX460 1GB.


Folding User Stats
Is_907 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-03, 10:35 AM   #12
Blueacid
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: UK

10 Year Badge
 
Just imagine....

2.3 million frames per second in SMP-enabled games
Blueacid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-03, 01:14 PM   #13
Loud
Member

 
Loud's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lynchburg, Virgina

 
(1) Since Vijay keeps reminding us over at the support forums that FAH Is not SMP enabled, and since I have an idea what Sandia will be doing with this monster, I think we'd have to load 10K or 20K FAH images. Suppose we could figure out how to manage it remotely?

(2) Why are they using SDRAM? I've heard time and time again that Athlon CPUs really like DDR.
Loud is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?