Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Ummmmmmm what does this mean !!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-03, 03:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
cozmo_d
Member

 
cozmo_d's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Planet X

10 Year Badge
 
Ummmmmmm what does this mean !!!


Chek this out

Was setting up the bios to get back too another round of burning in & I decided to try to boot @ a lower cpu speed 1600+ & 100 fsb @1.85v

well it would not post @ all

so I tryed 1700+ with 133 fsb again @ 1.80v still no post (black screen)

So I tryed 1800+ with 133fsb/1.85v.... it posts & sayes the cpu speed is 2558 mhz What's that all about ?

it would not boot into windows @ that speed I just shut it off real fast when I seen the post results

between each post attempt I cleared the cmos for over 30 sec.

anyone ever seen this phenomana ??

I didnt try 1900+ or 2000+ kinda freeked me out

__________________

•Abit ip35pro•e3110•9x408•3671Mhz•
•corsair pc2 6400 5.5.5.18•1.8v•400mhz•
•evga Gtx 560Ti 823/1002/1645•
•wd raptor 2x75gig raid0•wd raptor 150gig•
•seagate 2x80gig sata 7200.7•
•nec dvd burner•Pioneer dvr116dbk•
•24"Acer lcd •os:/>w7pro•
•Thermalright Ultima90•
•Audigy 2 zs platinum•

Heat
cozmo_d is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-03, 03:46 PM   #2
Milkman
Member

 
Milkman's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NH Biodiesel master

 
yes, the bios screen can be weird,sometimes after trying a bad setting on my Kd7 it will post at 1500 when I check the settings it says 100x12 which last time I checked doesn't =1500 but maybe my math is wrong, anyway after resetting parameters all is ok again, really weird though.

mamer

__________________

Fx55
Sandy@2950 for now
Dfi Lanparty Ultra> Sli
Corsair Pc3200@4400

X800XlAll Air Cooled:(
MyHeatware
Milkman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-03, 03:54 PM   #3
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
id say the bios is acting up and it and the cpu arent playing nicely.is a odd thing tho.but id think it should clear up after a cmos clearing.

__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-03, 09:51 PM   #4
purduephotog
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2002

 
Some more ideas


Hey-

On my system I know I've got a ****ty PSU. It started going to pot when I tossed a SCSI card into the box, and from that point onwards I don't always get a good boot- sometimes I have to hit the reset a few times to get it up and running.

I ought to check it with the new PSU but I frankly have been to lazy to interconnect them.

The other really odd thing about booting is - with this chip (the other half of a dual system) I can'tboot it warm- I have to shut off the power and then power on.... and then it boots.

Wierd, ehhh?

My guess is the '400 watt' (yeah right) isn't supplying enough juice... and the delay on the HD spinup is enough for the CPU to get powered up.

But it's all speculation

J
purduephotog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-03, 12:41 AM Thread Starter   #5
cozmo_d
Member

 
cozmo_d's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Planet X

10 Year Badge
 
well I been monotoring my psu & its doing fine I had concerns tho as its only a 350w Sparkle Power but it seems to be doing ok

I was tempted to shag my buddies 430w antec its sitting in the corner waiting for more parts to arive

__________________

•Abit ip35pro•e3110•9x408•3671Mhz•
•corsair pc2 6400 5.5.5.18•1.8v•400mhz•
•evga Gtx 560Ti 823/1002/1645•
•wd raptor 2x75gig raid0•wd raptor 150gig•
•seagate 2x80gig sata 7200.7•
•nec dvd burner•Pioneer dvr116dbk•
•24"Acer lcd •os:/>w7pro•
•Thermalright Ultima90•
•Audigy 2 zs platinum•

Heat
cozmo_d is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?