Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

XWindow -- on EGA?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-03, 08:12 PM Thread Starter   #1
Twist
Member

 
Twist's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002

 
XWindow -- on EGA?


I have an old computer, and I installed a small (5 floppy-sized) version of linux -- MonkeyLinux -- and it comes with an XWindow GUI, but I can't get it to work.

Here is my problem: This computer is running EGA (maybe its VGA? I got confused...) and whenever I type the command to start XWindow (command is: startx) it tries to run it, but the screen just stays blank. It's trying to start in 8-bit mode, but it doesn't work? Any ideas? I would really love to get this working!!

Last edited by Twist; 01-20-03 at 09:02 PM.
Twist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-03, 11:51 PM   #2
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
What kind of res is X set to do? I'd think if you plugged in a computer with a vga card to an EGA monitor, you'd just get a crummy picture unless the computer was outputting at too high or a resolution.

This is an EGA monitor that can do non-character graphics, isn't it?
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-03, 05:59 AM Thread Starter   #3
Twist
Member

 
Twist's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002

 
I believe so. It's an old NEC monitor. The computer I'm using has no graphics card though.

Um..the resolution? I'm not sure, gotta check that
Twist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-03, 10:51 AM   #4
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
If the computer you are using has no video card... then how are you outputting to a monitor? Are you on a serial console or something? You aren't going to get X to work one of those.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-03, 02:17 PM Thread Starter   #5
Twist
Member

 
Twist's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002

 
The graphics card must be integrated then.

Specs:
COMPAQ XE560
Pentium 60 (60MHz)
6GB HD
Integrated sound card (outputs to internal speaker)
Compaq Mobo (unidenitfiyable, all I could find is that is was from compaq!!)
Twist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-03, 10:52 PM   #6
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Well what does the connector you are plugging the monitor into look like? Plain old 15-pin vga?

Have you tried to verify that the monitor is capable of non-character-based graphics?
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-03, 05:52 AM Thread Starter   #7
Twist
Member

 
Twist's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002

 
Yes. I used it with windows XP on my other computer.
Twist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-03, 09:55 AM   #8
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Whats the highest res you can run it with in XP? You checked to see if Linux is trying to run at a res higher than that? When you hit ctrl-alt-backspace on the Linux box, do you get your console back?
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-03, 04:19 PM   #9
Master Mitch
Member

 
Master Mitch's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY

 
If you used the monitor with WinXP, then it's definitely a 15-pin, VGA style sort of thing. And hopefully no Pentium machine would have built-in EGA anyway. Even a Compaq. =)

But at any rate, EGA uses a different connector, so your machine does not have EGA graphics. It might, however, have a very archaic implementation of VGA. So if you find those resolution and color settings somewhere, go for 640x480 and as few colors as you can. 4-bit color at 640x480 is supported in the brain stem of every color VGA adapter ever built, so that's definitely safe.
Master Mitch is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?