Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

A7V, should i continue to cool the Green Menie? Green Menie raised my system n CPU temp by over 3-5C

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-01, 12:22 AM Thread Starter   #1
Chicharon1
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2001

 
A7V, should i continue to cool the Green Menie? Green Menie raised my system n CPU temp by over 3-5C


i got an A7V.i installed a 486 fan over the green meanie. my theory is the fan causes the air to cool the green meanie but the bad side is that even more hot air gets circulated around the system n my CPU n system temp all got a +3 to +5 C.

Do i really need to cool or continue to cool the green meanie?
Chicharon1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-11-01, 02:09 PM   #2
Wega!
Senior Member


 
Wega!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denmark!

10 Year Badge
 
No u don't have to, but I think it might help u if u want higher FSB speed's.

__________________
You say Lady Gaga, I say Dash Berlin
You say Hannah Montana, I say Orjan Nilsen
You say Owl City, I say Above & Beyond
You say Justin Bieber, I say Armin Van Buuren
You say Taylor Swift, I say Dj TiŽsto

In Trance we trust!

Benching mayhem: Asus Rampage Extreme, Gigabyte Ep45 UD3P, QX9650, Q9550, E6300, 4x Cedar Mill's, Corsair Dominators 2000Mhz 8-9-8-24, Crucial Ballistix DDR2, Asus GTX480, XFX GTX260, Inno 8800GTX, Zotac 8800GT, Piotres CPU pot, EK Supreme HF, MCW60 Mo-Ra 3 Pro, Ek DC 4.0 and a Corsair TX750
Daily driver: Asus P5Q Pro, Q8400, OCZ PC8000, GTX460, Enzotech Sapphire, EK GTX460 full block, XSPC res/pump and a HWLabs GTX480.
Wega! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-01, 05:22 PM   #3
Nagorak
Senior Member

 
Nagorak's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000

 
If you're not overclocking your FSB, don't bother.

You should seriously consider increasing your case ventillation, cooling the North Bridge chip should NOT raise your temps by that much. Maybe 1-2 F, 3-5 C is totally ridiculous. Are you sure that you haven't just been having warmer days lately?

__________________
Nagorak
HEAT
Nagorak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-01, 03:56 AM Thread Starter   #4
Chicharon1
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2001

 
well ya.. itz indeed hotter... but i did raise something like 2C on my PC.. especially because the heat is dissipitated... i'll lap my green meaniie sumtime next week....anyone of u using an A7V? how can i raise the FSB by dipswitch? after clicking d dips it doesn't raise my FSB


Quote:
Nagorak (Apr 11, 2001 05:22 p.m.):
If you're not overclocking your FSB, don't bother.

You should seriously consider increasing your case ventillation, cooling the North Bridge chip should NOT raise your temps by that much. Maybe 1-2 F, 3-5 C is totally ridiculous. Are you sure that you haven't just been having warmer days lately?
Chicharon1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-01, 05:46 AM   #5
Wega!
Senior Member


 
Wega!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denmark!

10 Year Badge
 
In ur manual, u can see how to set the dipswithes, to raise the FSB.

__________________
You say Lady Gaga, I say Dash Berlin
You say Hannah Montana, I say Orjan Nilsen
You say Owl City, I say Above & Beyond
You say Justin Bieber, I say Armin Van Buuren
You say Taylor Swift, I say Dj TiŽsto

In Trance we trust!

Benching mayhem: Asus Rampage Extreme, Gigabyte Ep45 UD3P, QX9650, Q9550, E6300, 4x Cedar Mill's, Corsair Dominators 2000Mhz 8-9-8-24, Crucial Ballistix DDR2, Asus GTX480, XFX GTX260, Inno 8800GTX, Zotac 8800GT, Piotres CPU pot, EK Supreme HF, MCW60 Mo-Ra 3 Pro, Ek DC 4.0 and a Corsair TX750
Daily driver: Asus P5Q Pro, Q8400, OCZ PC8000, GTX460, Enzotech Sapphire, EK GTX460 full block, XSPC res/pump and a HWLabs GTX480.
Wega! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-01, 06:35 PM Thread Starter   #6
Chicharon1
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2001

 
but after selecting like 110mhz for d dip switch the system still booths at 100x9.5 what gives??? =( is there anything else that i need to unlock?


Quote:
Cerwin AKA Walter:-( (Apr 12, 2001 05:46 a.m.):
In ur manual, u can see how to set the dipswithes, to raise the FSB.
Chicharon1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-01, 04:38 AM   #7
Wega!
Senior Member


 
Wega!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denmark!

10 Year Badge
 
No there is not anything else u should unlock.

__________________
You say Lady Gaga, I say Dash Berlin
You say Hannah Montana, I say Orjan Nilsen
You say Owl City, I say Above & Beyond
You say Justin Bieber, I say Armin Van Buuren
You say Taylor Swift, I say Dj TiŽsto

In Trance we trust!

Benching mayhem: Asus Rampage Extreme, Gigabyte Ep45 UD3P, QX9650, Q9550, E6300, 4x Cedar Mill's, Corsair Dominators 2000Mhz 8-9-8-24, Crucial Ballistix DDR2, Asus GTX480, XFX GTX260, Inno 8800GTX, Zotac 8800GT, Piotres CPU pot, EK Supreme HF, MCW60 Mo-Ra 3 Pro, Ek DC 4.0 and a Corsair TX750
Daily driver: Asus P5Q Pro, Q8400, OCZ PC8000, GTX460, Enzotech Sapphire, EK GTX460 full block, XSPC res/pump and a HWLabs GTX480.
Wega! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-01, 08:26 AM Thread Starter   #8
Chicharon1
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2001

 
i already figured it out!!! YIPEEE but i can only max out at d FSB at 103 mhz =( any tips from u ppl?

Quote:
Walter:-( (Apr 13, 2001 04:38 a.m.):
No there is not anything else u should unlock.
Chicharon1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-01, 08:38 AM   #9
Da Whip
Senior Member

 
Da Whip's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny Florida, you can keep the midwest!!

 
Whether or not you cool the northbridge, there is going to be heat coming off of it. Cooling it down a little can't hurt. Anything you do to cool down any part of your system is to your advantage.

__________________
New System:
Asus MA379-T Deluxe bios 602
AMD Phenom II 940 Black Edition@ 3.35Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64 35C Ambient, 50-60C load
4gig (2x2gig) Kingston Hyper X 1066
Asus Radeon X4870 Black Knight 1gig
Lg DVD Burner
PC Power & Cooling 750 watt Silencer
Thermaltake V9 Black Edition (2x 230mm & 2x 120mm fans)

My Heatware
Da Whip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-01, 10:29 PM   #10
TechnoFile
Member

 
TechnoFile's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: SC, USA

 
Alot of those A7V's(like mine) really have trouble getting to a higher FSB.... the best I've done is 106, but it wasn't 100% stable. One thing I did, not really related to FSB, is take a Greenie off my first A7V(the one I killed), trimmed it a bit, and stuck it on my clock generator.... thats the little chip right below the DIP's... careful when you touch it, it can get REALLY hot...
TechnoFile is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?