• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Some newbies questions....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ardent

This is my first build and I have all the things in needed to power up and see if it posts fine before I go on.....

However, I have a couple of silly questions I need answers to:

My case is a chieftec, and the 2 case fans I have in the rear have a male and female connector. Male connectors are plugged into females coming from the PSU, but what are the female connectors for?

Is it possible to use one of the these female connectors to plug in the male connector from my Volcano 9 HSF? Or does this have to go into the PSU as well?

Also, this case can take 2 intake fans in the front....looking at the connectors from the PSU it seems like I'm running out of connections?!?

Please allay my newbie paranoia with some help :D

Thanks in advance, Ardent

ardent said:
This is my first build and I have all the things in needed to power up and see if it posts fine before I go on.....

However, I have a couple of silly questions I need answers to:

My case is a chieftec, and the 2 case fans I have in the rear have a male and female connector. Male connectors are plugged into females coming from the PSU, but what are the female connectors for?

Is it possible to use one of the these female connectors to plug in the male connector from my Volcano 9 HSF? Or does this have to go into the PSU as well?

Also, this case can take 2 intake fans in the front....looking at the connectors from the PSU it seems like I'm running out of connections?!?

Please allay my newbie paranoia with some help :D

Thanks in advance, Ardent

Youv have your connector terminology reversed. What you call female is really male and vice-versa (hmmm. cyber-sex?):)