Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

computer restarting

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-03, 12:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
eab
Member

 
eab's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Houghton MI, MTU, up in the UP eh!

 
computer restarting


I am going over later today to fix a computer for a friend. Don't know the specs right now but I belive there something like this.

500 mhz celly ?
64-128 mb ram?
10 gig hd ?
Cdrw drive
vidcard ?


Any way the proplem is the computer was resarting all the time when they used it. Now it can't go more then 4-6 minuntes with out the computer restarting? Whats bad on it? Would an older celly restart if it got to hot? Or is the cpu or the mobo shot?

Any help would be nice.
Thanks,
eab is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-03, 01:16 PM   #2
AMD'er
Member

 
AMD'er's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Atlanta

10 Year Badge
 
the problem is with a machine that old it could be a number of things...the PS could be going bad...chip could be on its last leg....mobo could be going out....

check the PCI cards...remove all of them and replace them one by one to see if one of those are causing a problem...

if all else fells tell them you will build one for them

__________________
No Rig Must Build New Still Waiting to Build A New One

R.I.P (2002-2006) to the following Machine!!!
P4 2.6C @ 3.32
IC7G
512 HyperX 3500
ATI 9800 Pro
Words of Wisdom:
A Wise Man Once Said..."I PITTY DA FOOL"
AMD'er is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-03, 01:23 PM   #3
Th0r
Member

 
Th0r's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England. Liverpool, Aintree

 
BAd drivers or something u installing and Windows does not like it can cause the problem...i would re-format there machine with a fresh install of Windows....and if it keeps happening (do not install anything yet) then it will be a hardware problem...

Try and make sure that the fans are working in side the machine....make sure all the vents are clear so air can get in and out...might be the computer is over heating...
Th0r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-03, 03:49 PM Thread Starter   #4
eab
Member

 
eab's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Houghton MI, MTU, up in the UP eh!

 
Its not the power supply I just put a new one in it a while back for them.
eab is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?