• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Antec 550 & Fan Only Connections

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PushPad

Registered
I would like to connect 4 case fans (Thermaltake Smart Fan IIs) to my Antec 550 PSU Fan Only power connectors, but the owners manual says not to connect more than 3 case fans to the Fan Only connectors. Would it cause any problems? Anyone done it?

Or is it better just to attach the thermo sensors to the CPU heatsink? Seems like more wire clutter though.

Can you tell I've never built a PC before. Thanks for any suggestions.

Given the fact that the amount of power consumed by case fans et-al varies considerably from brand to brand and rated cfm, they are probably covering their butt and basing that advice on a worse case scenario. I checked their web site, which I might mention has undergone a good overhaul and there is no power specified for the fan power so there is no absolute value to consider. Not being familiar with the ThermalTake Smart Fans, I have no idea whether they represent the low or high end in power consumption compared to other case fans. I thought I read a blurb somewhere that you should not use the True550 fan power to control fans that already have a form of variable-speed as a function of a thermal sensor. Anyone else read that?

Hoot

Hoot said:
I thought I read a blurb somewhere that you should not use the True550 fan power to control fans that already have a form of variable-speed as a function of a thermal sensor. Anyone else read that?

Hoot