• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

which consumer level video encoding software is multi-threaded?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LandShark

Super Shark Moderator
which of the consumer level video encoding software is multi-threaded?? can't afford Adobe!! is Pinnacle Studio 8 multi-threaded??

also, which one has best encode quality & speed?? or they all about the same??

and anyone is P4 (SSE2) optimized??

i'm new in the video editing stuff. and i'm not looking for DVD output. more looking for VCD (or S-VCD) final output.

tks in advance! ;)

i did some video editing (maybe a few hrs worth total)
i never had a dual rig, sry cant be more help.

actually now that i think about it, my friend down the street had a dual rig (like 1yr+ ago) and he had a dual... i forget what he used

Last edited:
You want encoding, not editing right? A great inexpensive encoder is TmpgEnc. It has multi thread capability Plus it has been optimized for the new HT P4. Go Here.

For best quality you would use Cinama Craft but be prepared to spend some money. It is not inexpensive software.

actually, what i'm trying to do is.........i downloaded some MTV mpg files (legally), and i want to burn it as a VCD (or better S-VCD), and veiw it on regular TV/PC/DVD player.....

LandShark said:
actually, what i'm trying to do is.........i downloaded some MTV mpg files (legally), and i want to burn it as a VCD (or better S-VCD), and veiw it on regular TV/PC/DVD player.....

If they are already in mpeg (1) format then all you need to do is use Nero or another type of burning software.

If they are divx or non mpeg format then I highly recomend TmpgEnc. Very good quality encodes, and it has good optimizations plus-muti threaded.

EDIT: here is a site that I swear by, and everyone should be informed about. www.vcdhelp.com