Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

A7V133 OC Problem-can't get fsb past 120. Please reply A7V133 owners.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-01, 05:03 AM Thread Starter   #1
Wok
New Member



Join Date: May 2001

 
A7V133 OC Problem-can't get fsb past 120. Please reply A7V133 owners.


Hey guys (and ladies). I am OC’ing a T-bird 850 on an Asus A7V133 mobo. I have
unlocked the CPU and increased the voltage to 1.84 volts. My problem is this: I cannot seem to boot up with my fsb past 120. I have tried setting my clock multiplier as low as 5.0, rebooting, and then trying to take the fsb past 120. When I did this, I can't even get into the BIOS, it just sits there with a blank screen.

To add to this, I can't even get anything to come up after I set JEN to jumper mode and set everything manually-to 5.0 and up * 100 fsb. I cant't get my computer to boot or even post at all.
I would be apprecitive of any help to get back into my computer and to solve my
mystery fsb problem. It's not my CPU temp, by the way, as that is less than 50 celcuis. I also have a 256mb Corsair PC150 cas 2 DIMM, so I think my memory is not limiting me. Perhaps I am doing something in the wrong order?

Thank you for any instructive replies or links.
Wok is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 05-20-01, 02:26 PM   #2
PDL
Member

 
PDL's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: OH-Heartland of the USA

 
Did you reset(clear) the CMOS before starting each time that it will not boot?
It's the "CLRTC" connections on the mainboard. This also clears a forgotten password.
PDL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-01, 05:27 PM   #3
stroligo
Inactive Moderator



Join Date: Dec 2000

 
Why are you trying to run at over 120Mhz FSB? You likely have a PCI divisor issue. Have you tried to run at a lower multiplier and 133Mhz FSB?
stroligo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-01, 02:16 PM   #4
dimitri
Registered



Join Date: May 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada

 
How old is your 850? If it was made b4 the kt133a chipset was availabe, most likely it wasn't designed to run at 133.. A lot of the newer 800-900's made in the last quarter of 2000 can run at 133, but older ones can't. I've also found that the x50's (750,850,950) don't oc as well, my theory is that they are x00's oced a lil :P
dimitri is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-01, 04:40 PM Thread Starter   #5
Wok
New Member



Join Date: May 2001

 
Hey man,
Thanks for responding. Yes, I have tried to run at 121fsb and up at multipliers of 5.0 thru 8.0. I know that my CPU is unlocked because fsb of 120 and below work fine at different multipliers. Perhaps that guy was right when he said I had on old CPU. Does anyone know where I can check out CPU stats according to serial number?[


Why are you trying to run at over 120Mhz FSB? You likely have a PCI divisor issue. Have you tried to run at a lower multiplier and 133Mhz FSB?[/quote]
Wok is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-01, 07:38 AM   #6
Tachyon
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Arkansas

 
The date it was manufactured is on the second line of data on the die.
Tachyon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-01, 12:05 PM   #7
JimmyG
Member

 
JimmyG's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
I am running A7V133, corsair 256mb CAS2, no sound card and using on board sound, geforce2mx, generic nic, wbk32 hsf, and a T-bird 950. I can set the fsb to 140with multiplier at 7.5 and run stable. You need to set your multiplier to 7 or lower first, reboot, then set your FSB. Also, there is a threshold freq (i think it is 125) that once you go above it the PCI bus is locked at 33 mhz. You may need to go above 125 to get stability.
JimmyG is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?