• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GA-8INXP Newbie Install Questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PushPad

Registered
Well the wait is soon over. My GA-8INXP motherboard will be arriving in 4 days... the last piece of my puzzle. As I have never built a PC before (or even spent much time on one since my 18 years using Macs)...I have some prep questions before I try to assemble this machine.

1. What's the best way to remove the Heatsink/Fan retention frame? (Those white plastic grommet things)

2. After plugging in all the wires, do I change bios settings before installing WinXP?

3. On the GA-8INXP, what is a simple way to set up my raid 0? ie. step 1-5. (The motherboard hopefully will come with a raid instruction manual, but the board's manual I downloaded didn't talk about installing raid.)

4. The Audigy 2 sound card came with only a digital CD audio cable, yet I'm connecting to a Klipsch 5.1 analog speaker setup (lineout 1-3 miniplug). Will that work, or do I need to buy an analog audio cable?

5. Are the round ATA-133 cable the same for optical drives as for HDDs?

6. How thin is thin for applying the Artic Silver on my HS...and what is lapping?

Thanks in advance for your help; this is a great forum.

PushPad said:
Well the wait is soon over. My GA-8INXP motherboard will be arriving in 4 days... the last piece of my puzzle. As I have never built a PC before (or even spent much time on one since my 18 years using Macs)...I have some prep questions before I try to assemble this machine.

1. What's the best way to remove the Heatsink/Fan retention frame? (Those white plastic grommet things)

2. After plugging in all the wires, do I change bios settings before installing WinXP?