Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

The Dream Board

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-03, 01:24 PM Thread Starter   #1
DJ Switch
Member

 
DJ Switch's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Littleton

 
The Dream Board


Here is what I am looking for in a mobo as of right now, hopefully is it somewhere to be found:

Pentium 478 400/533mhz Support
4X RDram (PC800)
AGP 8X support (optional)
Built in SATA Taps
FSB Manipulator
VCore Manipulator
Memory Voltage Manipulator (optional)
AGP Voltage Manipulator (optional)
Granite Bay Chipset (optional)
3 Case Fan Headers
MBM readouts Support

Anyone seen a board with the required options anywhere? If so please let me know. Any comments and suggestions just reply.
DJ Switch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 02-16-03, 02:16 PM   #2
raven
Member

 
raven's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Toronto

 
i might be wrong on this, so dont quote me, but i think that the granite bay chip set only supports Dual DDR

a really good RDRAM board is the gigabyte GA-8HXP board
doesnt have all the features you might like, but it is rock stable. Just something you might want to consider.

raven

__________________
Core i5-750.................................................. ..............................................P4 2.4 M0 @ 3.3 on AIR w/ AS5
2x 2GB G.Skill Ripjaw.................................................. .................................2x 256 OCZ PC-3500 EL DDR PE @ 2,2,2,5 on Street Racer
Gigabyte P55-UD4P.................................................. ....................................Abit AI7
OCZ Agility2 120GB, WD Black 1TB & 2x WD Green 2TB.....................................WD 36GB Raptor & Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Sound Blaster X-FI XtremeMusic.................................................. ..................Sound Blaster MP3
ATI HD5750 Go! Green.................................................. ...............................ATI AIW X800XL
New System up and running!
--Virus Troubles?--..........--Need a Program?--..........--Spyware Problems?--..........--System and Boot Optimization--


Nothing I say should be directly used, without my explicit permission, to make money. I DO NOT support INLINE ADS.
raven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-03, 03:33 AM   #3
Black_Paladin
Member

 
Black_Paladin's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boise, ID

 
raven,
You are correct in that the Granite bay mobos will support only DDR and not Rambus. You don't have to run them in dual-ddr mode though. With a single stick of DDR, the granite bay mobos will run in single DDR mode like the 845 boards (but if you are going to do that, then why pay all the money for a granite bay board??) and with 2 or 4 (?) sticks or DDR memory, they will run in dual channel DDR mode.

To answer DJ's question, this board I'm putting a link to below comes with everything you listed (except one optional component) and more:

http://www.abit.com.tw/abitweb/webjs...MODEL_NAME=SI7

Pentium 478 400/533mhz Support *Yes*
4X RDram (PC800) *Yes* (Supports up to PC1200 RDRAM)
AGP 8X support *Yes* (altough a useless feature)
Built in SATA Taps *Yes* (Got 2 of them so you can do SATA raid)
FSB Manipulator *Yes* (by all means yes)
VCore Manipulator *Yes* (by all means yes)
Memory Voltage Manipulator *Yes* (by all means yes)
AGP Voltage Manipulator *No* (you said this was optional tough)
Granite Bay Chipset (you can't have GB chipset on a Rambus board)
3 Case Fan Headers *Yes*
MBM readouts Support *Yes*
Black_Paladin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-03, 07:46 AM   #4
BaldHeadedDork
Member



Join Date: Aug 2002

 
Nice hunting, BP. But FYI, the SI-7 isn't in the retail channel yet and I wasn't able to find a release date.

I did find a story by Hardware Central on the SiS R658 and the Abit SI7.

http://www.hardwarecentral.com/hardw...eports/4643/1/



BHD
BaldHeadedDork is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-03, 12:41 PM Thread Starter   #5
DJ Switch
Member

 
DJ Switch's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Littleton

 
Well BP, thanks very much for your help, that just earned you a star. I appreciate your computer market intelligence. Now i found my dream board!
DJ Switch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-03, 02:33 PM   #6
Black_Paladin
Member

 
Black_Paladin's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boise, ID

 
Glad to make you happy DJ.

As BaldHeadedDork pointed out, you might not be able to find this board in the retail channel right now because it's new (hey anything that supports PC1200 has GOT to be new!) but it should become available very shortly.

I believe this is the only board on the market right now that supports PC1200. Of course you could get an older Rambus board and manage to overclock your memory to PC1200 levels if you are lucky but very few people have managed to do this, the reason being that the RDRAM clock generator chips on the older motherboars creating a bottleneck. For instance, if you remember, the TH7-II motherboard was a great overclocker but usually not that great for overclocking the memory because it had clock generator chips rated for only 400Mhz and therefore you were really lucky if you managed to overclock your memory high.

What some people did to remedy this situation was to actually replace the clock generator chips on the TH7-II's by ripping them out and soldering new ones on.

Well, now the SI-7 is out and since it supports PC1200 RDRAM, it's got the RDRAM clock generator chips to support it (rated for at least 600Mhz). Mind you, there still isn't PC1200 RDRAM on the market right now that you can buy but you will be able to get PC1066 RDRAM and easily overclock it to PC1200 speed on that board. As you know, there isn't a standard for DDR over PC2700 either but you can buy PC3500 RAM from manufacturers like Corsair.

Of course if you wanted to hold on a little bit, you could wait for official PC1200 RDRAM to come out so you can overclock even further but then this time, if the RDRAM clock generator chips on this board is rated for only 600mhz, then that will be a bottleneck again.

But hey, if you want further info on this board, there is big thread on it here:

http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...hreadid=126087
Black_Paladin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-03, 08:21 PM   #7
flapperhead
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: wash dc area

 
a chipset that runs a true 250 fsb (1000 quad pumped), supports pc 6000, (3000 from each rdram bank) scores 10,000 on sandra memory bench!!!!!!! then i woke up
flapperhead is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?