• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Do I need a new PSU?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Arcanist

Hi guys, I know you probably get asked this question alot, but this is my first time at this site and I'm really desperate. For christmas I bought a GA-7VAXP motherboard with a athlon xp 2400+ @ 2010 ghz processor, 512 ddr pc2700 ram, geforce 4 ti4600, 40 gb western digi HD.

I'm currently running it with a 300watt, 160watt combined PSU. While playing my computer it ill randomly reboot for no reason. Sometimes it will do it multiple times. I sent my computer off thinking it was defective, they couldn't find a problem, then I started thinking about the PSU. Could not enough power cause it to reboot like that? Ifso, what power supply size do you recommend? I use the on board sound, lan, and all the other onboard peripherals.

Any input is appreciated thanks in advance.

the power supply is most likely the problem. are you overclocking your pc? if u are then u may need to try higher voltages for stability, but dont forget the heat factor :)

i would say maybe a 400w sparkle would be more than enough for your current setup

Going on what you have stated is on your system, I am wondering what else you have in it.
How many case fans??
How many CD-RW/DVD-RW/CD-ROM etc??
Just the one harddrive??
And extra lights?
Any sound card add ons? Game controllers? Other items plugged into the same power strip like your speaker amp unit?

My recommendation would be an Antec Truepower 480Watt if you have 2 or more items I listed in addition to what you have listed.

As for the random rebooting, does it only happen when using games or maxing out the CPU etc?? What Operating System are you running and do you have the latest NON-BETA nVidia Detonator drivers installed??