Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Can't access C drive outside of Windows?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-03, 02:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
DaveMode
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Orlando, FL

 
Can't access C drive outside of Windows?


The other day I decided to change the boot-up logo in Windows XP to one I downloaded.. it required overwriting a file in my c:\windows\system32 directory. I restarted and see the new logo pop up...which it did, but when the next screen tried to come up (where you select who you're logging in under) the computer would reboot.. and do this endlesly. I couldn't even go in under safe mode.

I thought to myself, "ok, I backed up that file before I overwrote it, I'll just put the original one back when in DOS mode".. but I couldn't access my drive (which I recently changed to NTFS) from DOS using a boot disc. I ended up reinstalling windows completely. Does anyone know why I couldn't "see" my drive to make these simple changes?
DaveMode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-03, 03:06 PM   #2
ThePerfectCore
Red Raccoon Dojo

 
ThePerfectCore's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Texas

 
Heh, you made one of most common mistakes you can make with Windows XP - DOS can't read NTFS!

Next time try booting in safe mode, or boot from your XP disc and access the recovery console.

Or, you could use what every tech should have in his toolbox - NTFS DOS. http://www.sysinternals.com/ has a version out that will allow you to read NTFS partitions from MSDOS, but you'll have to pay for write support. I remember there being a freeware NTFS DOS that had both read and write support, but I can't find it now.
ThePerfectCore is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-03, 03:30 PM Thread Starter   #3
DaveMode
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Orlando, FL

 
Thanks, I thought that was a likely cause to my problem since I had used DOS before reformating to NTFS.

I'll look around for a free read/write ntfs dos.. will post again if I find something.
DaveMode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-03, 11:33 AM   #4
Ugmore Baggage
Member

 
Ugmore Baggage's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
Never change your boot screens (or now some PCs allow you to change your BIOS screen) in any way. You'll have problems. I don't know why but I've never seen it go smoothly. It's pointless anyway.
Ugmore Baggage is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?