Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

my windows time always screws up

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-03, 09:54 PM Thread Starter   #1
hc1001
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NY

 
my windows time always screws up


tried the search button but didnt find anything....do i need to replace the battery for my mobo? its fairly new(6 months)...or is there a program resetting it? thx for any help...

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Q6600 @ 3.4GHz (BIOS 1.36v, 1.27v actual)
Thermalright ultra extreme 120 2x120mm fans push/pull.
2X2048MB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500
XFX 9800GT
Corsair 520HX
hc1001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-03, 09:58 PM   #2
|3lackmagiK
Member

 
|3lackmagiK's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New Jerzie

 
Is it happeneing in BIOS (load-up) too?

If it is in bios too - then mobo

If it's normal and not resetting - you got a windows problem.. i think Windows update put out a new patch for something to do with the clocks.... auto-update or so.....
|3lackmagiK is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-03, 10:45 PM   #3
RangerJoe
All that is Man!

 
RangerJoe's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Stillwater, Oklahoma

 
get a new bios battery, thats what keeps track of it

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.92ghz --- Asus Striker Extreme
Lian Li V2000B---Corsair 620w PSU
8gb DDR2 Patriot (4x2gb)---Samsung Spinpoint T 500gb
Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme

My name is actually Phillip.
RangerJoe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-03, 10:59 PM   #4
Avatar28
No, I showered



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nashville, TN

 
No, the BIOS battery only keeps track of time when the system is off. The rest of the time it's done by your operating system. If your computer is constantly screwing up on the time it's either A) you have too much crap running in the background or B) there's a bug in Windows XP that the auto time updating is screwed up. Try changing it to time.nist.gov instead of the microsoft server. That sometimes help. Otherwise, just disable the automatic time.
Avatar28 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-03, 02:29 AM Thread Starter   #5
hc1001
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NY

 
thx guys...my windows is updated....and i dont think its teh BIOS because i fixed the time and let my comp run for 3 hours and saw that the time became behind like 12 mins....so it must be a program or windows....maybe i will turn off time synchronization and see if my time works...ill also check out my BIOS clock when i get a chance to....

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Q6600 @ 3.4GHz (BIOS 1.36v, 1.27v actual)
Thermalright ultra extreme 120 2x120mm fans push/pull.
2X2048MB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500
XFX 9800GT
Corsair 520HX
hc1001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?