Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

New sys... need some advice on troubleshooting

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-19-01, 10:30 PM Thread Starter   #1
FishDog3
Member

 
FishDog3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

10 Year Badge
 
New sys... need some advice on troubleshooting


First of all I have the EPoX 8K7A+ board, this is the first full system I have built from the ground up, I have put a lot of stuff into systems so I know my way around but I've never built a full sys.

Now, I have everything hooked up, I can power on, it goes to the boot screen and detects the CPU speed but stops there. I connot get into the BIOS. I am getting the code #50 on the led "Write all CMOS values currently in the BIOS stack area back into the CMOS."

Does this meen to clear the CMOS?? If so I tried setting the jumper to clear it and the sys would not power on. How do I re-write the defult CMOS values from the BIOS.

thx

p.s. the manual is a big pile of dog do-do. >(

fd

__________________
I7-920
5850
6G DDR3
FishDog3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 07-20-01, 10:41 AM Thread Starter   #2
FishDog3
Member

 
FishDog3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

10 Year Badge
 
I have to BUMP this as I am currently a little lost. I still need to know what "Write all CMOS values currently in the BIOS stack area back into the CMOS" means exactly and how to do it.

system specs:

EP-8K7A+
T-Bird 1.2 266 AXIA
2x256 Crucial PC2100
VisionTek GeForce2 Ultra
TDK VeloCDRW 12-10-32
Maxtor Dimond Max Plus 60. 20gig
Gladiator HSF
360w PSU

__________________
I7-920
5850
6G DDR3
FishDog3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-01, 07:20 PM   #3
JEFF
Guest




 
thought id bump it for you.r u booting with a windows boot disc? is your drive new? is it partitioned?
  QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-01, 01:40 AM   #4
mudguts
Member

 
mudguts's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco Bay Area

 
I've never heard of this one before Fish...but heres my thoughts on it. The cmos is basically a ram chip that you use to store system configurations on..like the geometry of your hardrive...or the boot sequence of your drives. This is a "volatile" chip..meaning that if the battery wasnt there to keep a supply of electricity to it..the values you enter would disappear. The bios chip is a "non-volatile" chip so it doesnt need battery juice. One of the programs it contains is the cmos setup utility. When you access this program..you change the data stored on the cmos chip..not the bios chip. So...if you cant even get into the cmos setup program..I would suspect you have a bad bios chip. It is possible to reflash the bios..but you need to be running in dos to do it. I would say return the board. By the way..do you get any beep codes upon powering up?
mudguts is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-01, 01:42 AM   #5
mudguts
Member

 
mudguts's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco Bay Area

 
Just another idea..have you checked the Epox website for any troubleshooting FAQs?
mudguts is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-01, 02:23 PM Thread Starter   #6
FishDog3
Member

 
FishDog3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

10 Year Badge
 
Well I got it going, no thanks to EPoX tec support, I asked them a question and said that the manual was not very descriptive so could they please give an explanation in fairly good detail... and I got an email back with a quote from the manual.

But it's all fixed now, something was wrong with the old vid card I was going to use to set up the sys with until I got my GF2U in the mail (stupid UPS), when I finally got it and put it in it started up normally. So all's good and thanks for yer help

fd

__________________
I7-920
5850
6G DDR3
FishDog3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?