Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

need help to find cause of errors!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-03, 01:20 PM Thread Starter   #1
elva lover
Member

 
elva lover's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002

 
need help to find cause of errors!


ok. i say that i get a MINIMUM of 50 errors a day doing normal tasks on my computer. These errors include:

a) those illegal operation error things that say xxx.exe has caused an illegal operation or something like that. or it just says 'xxx' has caused an error in xxx.exe. xxx will now close. if you continue to experience problems, try restarting your computer. (This error happens most often in Explorer, Internet Explorer and Netscape although it happens in other programs as well.)

and

b) those errors that are on white backing saying an error has occured, press ignore to continue working or close to close program (This error happens every once in a while to random programs)

i am running winME and this problem ONLY happens on this computer. (ie. the exact same copy of this winME has been installed on 3 different computers and NONE of those computers have these constant errors. In fact. they never have these errors)

I'm not too sure would this be a software or hardware problem so i posted this in both forums. But just incase it isn't a software problem here's my setup as well:

AMD T-Bird 900MHz @ stock w/ stock HSF
300W CSA Approved PSU
Kenwood 72X CDR
Ricoh 12X10X32X CDRW which doesn't work anymore
Panasonic 1.44MB FDD
Maxtor DiamondMaxPlus40, 30GB 7200RPM ATA100 HDD
SoundBlaster Live! Value Sound
Leadtek GF2 GTS 64MB @ stock w/ stock HSF
Asus A7V Mobo w/ Bios 1011
2 x 128MB PC-133 SDRAM (generic?)

I hope some1 can help me out. hah because after owning this computer for over 2 years. i still haven't figured out all these errors (yes, these errors have been around for 2 years so u understand how annoying it can get)

If you think it IS a hardware problem. i hope you are 100% sure because i'm a lowly unemployed student with a life savings of $200CDN =/
elva lover is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-03, 03:04 PM   #2
minoukat
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

10 Year Badge
 
I would suggest doing a clean install of Windows on it, see if it removes the errors. I've had WinME for about an year, and at first, it was good. The more I ran it, the less it was reliable. Maybe it's cause of something you installed, or uninstalled, or whatever. So, I'd say a fresh install would be your best bet. If not, at least you know it's not the OS but the hardware...

__________________
The only thing you should expect is the unexpected.
minoukat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-03, 04:16 PM Thread Starter   #3
elva lover
Member

 
elva lover's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002

 
did a clean reformat on tues. and this problem happens even right after an install.. i'm leaning towards that it's a hardware problem. but hey.. u'll never know

__________________
T-Bird 900MHz
Asus A7V
Kenwood 72X
LG 52X24X52X
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus40 30gb
Leadtek GF2 GTS 64MB
Razer Boomslang 2000 + 4 blue LEDs
EverGlide GIGANTA Unreal Tournament Logo
SB Live! Value
Viewsonic PF775
Altec Lansing ACS54
=====================================
P4 1.8A
Shuttle SS51G
LG 48X24X48X
WD 8MB Cache 80GB
TT SmartFan II
EverGlide GIGANTA
Samsung 151v
Logitech Z-340
MS IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0A + Internet Pro
elva lover is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-03, 05:57 PM   #4
minoukat
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

10 Year Badge
 
maybe test the memory ? Download Memtest86, and try it, see if your ram is alright. If it is, I'd reseat the heatsink and reapply thermal paste, just in case it might be heat.

__________________
The only thing you should expect is the unexpected.
minoukat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-03, 07:39 PM   #5
Oni
Oni-ni-Kanabō
Ninja Hippo eater Moderator

 
Oni's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by elva lover
did a clean reformat on tues. and this problem happens even right after an install.. i'm leaning towards that it's a hardware problem. but hey.. u'll never know
You might do good to run a memory testing program, like Memtest86 on it, like Minoukat said.

If that passes, try a different OS, like Win98 or Win2k.

__________________
Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

On Indefinite Hiatus

Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 930 @ Stock
12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
Corsair 750 Watt PSU

Oni is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?